Cross: Cox powers to victory in Lincolnshire R7

Cross: Cox powers to victory in Lincolnshire R7

Home » Cyclo-cross

 | |
Location: Stroxton, Grantham
Event: 20 October 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/Snowdon Sports

Paul Cox (Pedal Power) took his first victory of the season in round seven of the Lincolnshire Cyclo-Cross League in Grantham.

A traditional cyclo-cross course greeted riders with long straights through farmer’s fields with few corners lending itself to the more powerful riders.

Cox, aged 26 and from West Bridgford, led from the front and was joined George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers) for the first two laps before powering away to win on his own.

After the race Cox said: “I have good form at the moment so wanted to lead from the front and see what would happen.

“I went from the gun and was joined by George Thompson who I thought would give me a hard time but after two laps I just road away from him.

“I am really pleased as it is the first win I have had in a few years, I have been in and away from the sport since I went to the Cyclo-Cross World Championships as a junior some eight years ago.

“I am now looking to target the Midlands Championships and a few of the more local National Trophy rounds.”

Thompson held on to second place finishing a minute behind the winner and Mark Cotton (Ellmore Factory Racing) came home in third place.

First veteran home was Darryl Hewson (Ellmore Factory Racing), first over-50 was Graham Clark also (Ellmore Factory Racing), first over-60 was team-mate Nigel Middlehurst and first lady was Vanessa Holmes (Arrow Cycles).

The winner of the youth race was Josh Walters (Sherwood Pines), first girl was Rosie Williams (Nottingham Clarion), the under-14 winner was Matthew Ellis (Sherwood Pines) and the under-12 winner was Cameron Nielson (Spalding CC).


1 Paul Cox (Pedal Power)
2 George Thompson (Sleaford Whls) @1 minute
3 Mark Cotton (Ellmore Factory Racing)@ 2.44
4 Darryl Hewson (Ellmore Factory Racing) first veteran
5 Richard Baldwin (Bike Box) @4.18
6 Carl Dyson (unattached)@4.23
7 Christian Bravin (Leicester RC)@4.48
8 Craig Thursby (Boston Whls CC)@4.57
9 Henry Thompson (Sleaford Whls)@5.27
10 Rick Lister (Ellmore Factory Racing)@6.00

1 Josh Walters (Sherwood Pines)
2 Olly Peckover (Sherwood Pines)
3 Keiron Howath (Nottingham Clarrion)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.