Cross: Atkins charges to victory in West Mids R7

Cross: Atkins charges to victory in West Mids R7

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Elmdon Park, Solihull
Event: 20 October 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/ Snowdon Sports

Darren Atkins (Team Jewson) started with the veterans a minute behind the seniors and then charged through the field to take a fine victory in round seven of the West Midlands League at Solihull.

On a typical winter cyclo-cross circuit of churned up fields and some very slippery down-hill descents and wooded sections, round seven of the series was run off in mainly dry conditions.

Another big field of 100 riders started the final race of the day, the seniors and veterans 40-49.

Atkins, aged 44, from Kenilworth finished second Veteran 40-49 in the National Trophy last weekend and showed his form riding to his first overall victory in the series and fifth category victory.

A fine second place was taken by 18-year-old Luke Markham (Rugby Velo), third place was another veteran Stephen Knight (Team Jewson) and first senior home was Jeremy Hicks (Rugby Velo) in fourth overall.

In the veteran 50+ and junior category, veteran Peter Harris (Pearce Cycles RT) took a 30 second victory over last week’s winner James Garratt (Welland Valley CC) who claimed first junior and third place went to Ian Wright (Dig Deep Coaching).

In the youth race Cameron Biddle (Solihull CC) was the convincing victor by over a minute with Jacob Knight (Solihull CC) top under-14.


Senior/Veterans 40-49
1 Darren Atkins (Team Jewson) First vet
2 Luke Markham (Rugby Velo)
3 Stephen Knight (Team Jewson)
4 Jeremy Hicks (Rugby Velo)
5 Andrew Tamplin (Bicicielo Birmingham)
6 Colin Miller (Coventry Road Club)
7 Phil Blacker (Team Jewson)
8 Lee Plant (Stourbridge Velo)
9 Tym Burman (Kenilworth Whls CC)
10 Stephen Whitehouse (Bicicielo Birmingham)

Junior/Veteran 50+/Women
1 Peter Harris (Pearce Cycles RT) first veteran
2 James Garratt (Welland Valley CC) first junior
3 Ian Wright (Dig Deep Coaching)
4 Peter Turner (Derby Mercury RC)
5 George Woodhead (Lichfield City CC)
6 Peter Busby (Team Jewson)
Women: Lydia Gurley (Birmingham Uni CC)

1 Cameron Biddle (Solihull CC)
2 Joshua Gunn (Solihull CC)
3 Keir Lewis (Statford CC)
Under-14: Jacob Knight (Solihull CC)
Under -16 girl: Amy Garner (Welland Valley CC)
Under -14 girl: Ellie Russell (Mid Shropshire Whls)
Under -12 boy: Emile Alexander (Lichfield City CC)
Under -12 girl: Rachel Mayhew (Solihull CC)
Under -10 boy: Ben Askey (Lichfield City CC)
Under -10 girl: Daisy Rollason (Lichfield City CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.