Cross: Fawcett cruises to victory in Workington

Cross: Fawcett cruises to victory in Workington

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: The Curwen Centre, Workington
Event: 20 October 2013
Report: David Gow/Snowdon Sports

Tony Fawcett (Team Scott UK) gave a commanding performance in lapping the whole field to claim victory in the senior event of round six of the CXNE Rat Race Series promoted by VC Cumbria.

The event was held in the historic setting of Curwen Hall, Workington. The races were run in Autumnal conditions as the forecast rain holding off for the event.

With Fawcett storming to first place, a four way battle for the remaining podium places was developing behind him and Johnny Fletcher (M Steel Cycle Racing Team), Keith Murray (Team Scott UK), Colin Ash (Cestria) and Alan Nixon (Blackhawk Bikes) were all in the hunt.

Murray retired with a mechanical problem, leaving the rest to battle for the final placing. Nixon finally got the better of his rivals to finish second with Ash in third. Fletcher finished fourth with Darren Binks (Blackhawk Bikes) in fifth.

In the veterans, junior and women’s event, Tony Glover (Derwentside CC) came out on top from Richard Noble (Tyne Wear Fire and Rescue) with Dave Hopper (Cestria Cycles RT) in third.

In fourth overall, first junior was Matthew Worton (Blackhawk Bikes). First woman was Bev Blakeman (Derwentside CC). Barry Kipling (MTS Cycle Sport/Inkland RT) was first MV50.

An eager field of 25 under 12s took to the start line with Matti Egglestone (Beacon Wheelers) finishing first from club mate Hamish Donnelly in second and Sam Wedgwood (VC Cumbria) in third.

To complete a good day for Beacon Wheelers, Mark Donavan overcame a spirited challenge from Thomas Mein (Derwentside CC) for victory in the youth event. Rhianna Stoves (Derwentside CC) was first girl.

Special thanks go to the sponsors for providing prizes: Cyclewise, Debenhams, Mitchell Krause and Halfords.


1 Tony Fawcett (Team Scott UK)
2 Alan Nixon (Blackhawk Bikes)
3 Colin Ash (Cestria)
4 Johnny Fletcher (M Steel Cycle Racing Team)
5 Darren Binks (Blackhawk Bikes)
6 Ian Rutherford (Lune RC)
7 Simon Forster (Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue CC)
8 Robert Glaister (Keswick Bikes)
9 Gav Slack (Beacon Wheelers)
10 Lee Charlton (M Steel Cycle Racing Team)

1 Tony Glover (Derwentside CC)
2 Richard Noble (Tyne Wear Fire and Rescue)
3 Dave Hopper (Cestria Cycles RT)
4 Matthew Worton (Blackhawk Bikes)
5 James Anderson (Adept Precision RT)
6 Barry Kipling (MTS Cycle Sport/Inkland RT)
7 Elliot Davidson (Cestria Cycles RT)
8 Morgan Donnelly (Beacon Wheelers )
9 Ray Honour (MTS Cycle Sport/Inkland RT)
10 Mick Aspey (Northumbria Police CC)

Junior: Worton (Blackhawk Bikes)
Woman: Bev Blakeman (Derwentside CC)
Vet 50: Barry Kipling (MTS Cycle Sport/Inkland RT)

Youth: Mark Donavan (Beacon Wheelers)
Under 12: Matti Egglestone (Beacon Wheelers)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.