Cross: Paton takes clear London League victory

Cross: Paton takes clear London League victory

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Happy Valley Park, Woodingdean, Brighton
Event: 13 October 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

After five straight wins, Matt Holmes (Arctic SRAM RT) saw his London League run brought to an end in the wind and rain as Alex Paton (Team Gwb-ACTiV) pulled away to a clear victory at Happy Valley Park.

Alex Paton leads Matt Holmes at Happy Valley Park.

The pair went head to head for the first half of the race before 23-year-old Paton, from Dover, attacked and opened up a gap which he extended to 3-40 by the finish.

Holmes was caught by Phil Glowinski (VC Londres) but came out on top in a close tussle for second place as, behind them, a good battle for fourth went to Dan Drake (VC Deal).

Veteran Mark Smith (Crawley Wheelers) and junior Joshua Outram (Thanet RC) had a ding-dong tussle at the head of the supporting race for veterans, juniors and women until the former got the upper hand in the closing stages to secure his first win in the competition.

Second junior Oliver Priddle (Eastbourne Rovers CC) chased hard before dropping back, but held on for third as a scrap for second veteran, claimed by Douglas Fox (Crawley Wheelers), saw his advantage narrowed. Anett Deli (Cyclelabs) was first woman with a winning margin of a minute.

The youth race was the tightest of the day with the top four going wheel-to-wheel from the gun and covered by ten seconds at the finish where Martin Blackman (Sutton CC-De Ver) prevailed by a whisker over Toby Martin (Team Darenth).



1 ALEX PATON Team Gwb - ACTiV S 53:25

2 MATT HOLMES Arctic SRAM S @3'40


4 DAN DRAKE VC Deal S @5'16

5 CHRIS ATKINS Specialized S @5'23

6 RUSSELL SHORT London Dynamo S @6'25

7 GLEN WHITTINGTON BikeScience S @7'02

8 ALEX PETTETT Private member S @7'09

9 JAMES WADDINGTON Dulwich Paragon CC S @7'59

10 CONNOR MURPHY VC Jubilee S 1 lap

11 AARON BEARD Chevaliers CC S 1 lap

12 OLIVER LEE Unattached S 1 lap

13 CHRIS MCGOVERN Team Novo Nordisk S 1 lap

14 VOJTECH BLAZEJOWSKI Brixton Cycles S 1 lap

15 JASON BURKINSHAW Blazing Saddles S 1 lap

16 KRIS FOWLER The Tri store S 1 lap

17 BEN SPURRIER Vicious Velo S 1 lap

18 STUART SPIES London Dynamo S 1 lap

19 ANDREY PADIY Rollapaluza S 1 lap

20 JASON WOOD London Dynamo V 1 lap

21 NICK SMITH Lewes Wanderers CC S 1 lap

22 ANTONY SALMON Team Zuffle Racing S 1 lap

23 LEWIS KINCH Unattached S 1 lap

24 JOHN PEARS Crawley Wheelers S 1 lap

25 KAJ SCARSBROOK Mosquito Bikes S 1 lap

26 BARRY HARVEY Blazing Saddles V 1 lap

27 JACK PRIDDLE Eastbourne Rovers CC S 2 laps

28 ANTHONY BARKER Crawley Wheelers S 2 laps

29 SAM WINTER The Tri store S 2 laps

30 PHILIP DEACON Kingston Wheelers CC S


Veterans/Jun iors/Women:

1 MARK SMITH Crawley Wheelers V 42:32

2 JOSHUA OUTRAM Thanet RC J @0'45

3 OLIVER PRIDDLE Eastbourne Rovers CC J @2'05

4 DOUGLAS FOX Crawley Wheelers V+ @2'21

5 NICK WELSH GS Invicta V+ @2'46

6 SIMON SCARSBROOK Mosquito Bikes V @3'53

7 ADRIAN LYONS GS Invicta V @4'14

8 AIAN YULE Crawley Wheelers V @4'32

9 JOHN CORDNER Eastbourne Rovers CC V @4'44

10 ANDY SELTZER In-Gear Quickvit Trainsharp RT V @4'48

11 RUPERT ROBINSON Crawley Wheelers V @4'58

12 NIGEL LANGRIDGE Crawley Wheelers V @5'32

13 PAUL HUDSON Kenesis Morvelo V @5'46

14 MOYLAN Unattached V @5'50

15 MARK JARY VC Londres V @6'49

16 GEORGE WHITE Sutton Cycling Club J @6'51

17 MATTHEW LEVETT Cycling Weekly RT V @6'57

18 ANT GREY Crawley Wheelers V @7'40

19 ADAM FORD Eastbourne Rovers CC V @7'40

20 SIMON CLARKE GS Avanti V @7'56

21 GEORGE HIGGS Crawley Wheelers V

22 BRIAN ASHWOOD Sutton Cycling Club V 1 lap


24 STANLEY NUTTER Herne Hill Youth CC J 1 lap

25 ANETT DELI Cyclelabs W 1 lap

26 JOHN LEMONINS Unattached V 1 lap

27 ROB BEYLIN BikeScience J 1 lap

28 LUKE BANDY VC Jubilee J 1 lap

29 RICHARD LEWEY Crystal palace Tri V 1 lap

30 PAUL BUCKLEY Wigmore Cycles V 1 lap

31 DAVE BLACKMAN Sutton Cycling Club V+ 1 lap

32 CLAIRE BEAUMONT Rapha Condor W 1 lap

33 PAUL HORA-HOPEUS Handsling V 1 lap

34 M GULLIVER Crawley Wheelers V 1 lap

35 SIMON BENNETT VC Deal V 1 lap

36 ROB GRUNFIELD GS Avanti V 1 lap

37 JONNY CHEATLE VC Londres V 1 lap

38 MAX WELSON Sutton CC/De Ver J 1 lap

39 DAVID BISHOP Wigmore CC V 1 lap

40 HARRISON COOMBES Herne Hill Youth CC J 1 lap

41 PHIL KIRBY Sutton Cycling Club V 1 lap


43 PHILLIP HARRIS San Fairy Ann CC V+ 1 lap

44 GEOFF NUTTER Herne Hill Youth CC V+ 1 lap

45 ALAN NEWMAN Brighton Mitre V 1 lap

46 ANDREW KEYS Vermin VC V 1 lap

47 LEE RAE-BYFORD Crawley Wheelers V 1 lap

48 OSKAR SCARSBROOK Hackney GT J 1 lap

49 NEIL PETERS Team Daring V 1 lap

50 BRIAN SCARBORO Gemini BC V 1 lap

51 GREG BLACKWELL Hastings and St. Leonards V+ 1 lap

52 BRUCE ENGLISH Lewes Wanderers CC V 1 lap

53 PAUL NEVILLE Sutton Cycling Club V 1 lap

54 SEAN PENFOLD Crawley Wheelers J

55 JULIAN MCGOVERN Sutton Cycling Club V+ 2 laps

56 RACHAEL FOSTER Sprockets W 2 laps

57 GAVIN COOK Sutton CC/De Ver V 2 laps

58 OLLIE MOOR Prestige VC J

59 STUART LOCKYEAR London Phoenix V+


1 MARTIN BLACKMAN Sutton CC/De Ver MA 29:53

2 TOBY MARTIN Team Darenth MA @0'00

3 Harry CLARKE Sutton Cycling Club MA @0'04

4 GEORGE FINCH PMR@Toachim House MA @0'10

5 LUKE MITCHIE Team Darenth MB @1'08


7 MATTHEW MCGOVERN Sutton Cycling Club MA @4'11

8 ISAAC WRIGHT Preston Park Youth CC MA @4'18

9 THOMAS BURNETT VC Londres MA @4'32

10 FREDDIE ARGENT Herne Hill Youth CC MA @4'33

11 THOMAS IVES Sutton Cycling Club MB @4'34

12 GEORGE SALES Redhill CC MB @4'41



15 MAX CHEATLE VC Londres MB @5'49

16 ARLO LUDEWICK VC Londres MB @6'23

17 LUKE LEVETT Herne Hill Youth CC MB @6'58

18 FREDDIE DAVY Redhill CC MB @7'30

19 TOBY COOK Sutton Cycling Club MA @7'45

20 GEORGE SLOAN VC Jubilee MB @9'02

21 EMILY ASHWOOD Sutton Cycling Club FB

22 AMY SMITH VC Jubilee FA 1 lap

23 OLIVER RODGERS VC Jubilee MB 1 lap

24 THOMAS NEVILLE Sutton Cycling Club MA 1 lap


1st Jamie WALKER Sutton CC/De Ver

2nd Joseph BLACKMORE Herne Hill Youth CC

3rd Sion MARGRAVE Team Darenth

4th Joseph MARTIN Preston Park Youth CC

5th Henry CORDNER Eastbourne Rovers CC

6th Elliot PHILPOTT VC Jubilee

7th Rahul FORTESCUE TALWAR Preston Park Youth CC

8th Luke ASHWOOD Sutton Cycling Club

9th Max LAWSON Herne Hill Youth CC

10th Freddy NEWMAN Preston Park Youth CC

11th Dan KIRBY Sutton Cycling Club

12th Archie SLOAN VC Jubilee

13th Seth LUDEWICK Herne Hill Youth CC

14th Dru DENNIS Herne Hill Youth CC

15th James YULE Preston Park Youth CC

16th Ben Walker Unattached


1st Milo SUMMERS Herne Hill Youth CC MD

2nd Ferdie PARSON VC Jubilee MD

3rd Cameron STILL Sutton Cycling Club MD

4th Lukas Nerurkar PPYCC MC

5th Daniel LLOYD San Fairy Ann CC MD

6th Alex HARVEY VC Jubilee MD

7th Gill GORDNER Eastbourne Rovers CC MD

8th Max CAPAMAGIAN Woolwich CC MD

9th Ben FLATAN Charlotteville MD

10th George CLACK HHYCC MD

11th Archie RAYNARD Preston Park Youth CC MD

12th Jude WILSON Sutton Cycling Club MD

13th Peter Carpenter Sutton CC ME

14th George HARVEY VC Jubilee ME

15th Thomas JAMES Sutton Cycling Club ME

16th James KIRBY Sutton Cycling Club ME

17th Carys LLOYD San Fairy Ann CC FE

18th Will FLATAN Charlotteville ME

19th Tom Beyfus PPYCC MD

20th Frank NEWMAN Preston Park Youth CC MD

21st Milo ? Pedal Power ME

22nd Arun Fortesque Tawar PPYCC ME

23rd Nell LUDEWICK Herne Hill Youth CC FD

24th Hannah Chatfield Unattached FD

25th William Grey Crawley Wheelers MD

26th Rupert Willatgamuwa HHYCC ME

27th Ella Chatfield Unattached FE

27th Mia Wilson Sutton Cycling Club FE

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.