Cross: Winning start for Thompson in Huddersfield

Cross: Winning start for Thompson in Huddersfield

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Newsome High School, Huddersfield
Event: 13 October 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports
Photos: Phil Ingham

Competing for the first time in Hope Factory Racing colours, under-23 Mike Thompson eased his way to victory in the Huddersfield Star Wheelers promotion at Newsome High School.

Junior Tom Seaman (Nutcracker Racing) led the field for the opening lap before Thompson and Andy Johnson (Yorkshire Velo) took over at the front.

Thompson opened up a small gap on the next lap, and the Saltburn 18-year-old – the British junior cross-country mountain bike champion – steadily worked his way clear in the rain to cross the line 43 seconds ahead of Johnson with Seaman a further five seconds back in third.

The meeting included the Yorkshire age group championships with Ava Oxley (Kirklees Cycling Academy) dominating the under-12s race to lead the way home ahead of all the boys.

With numbers soaring for Yorkshire events and difficulty getting entry for some riders, a novice event was held for the first time which resulted in a win for Julian Holland of the promoting club.


1 Mike Thompson (Hope Factory Racing)
2 Andy Johnson (Yorkshire Velo)
3 Tom Seaman (Nutcracker Racing)
4 Alan Nixon (Blackhawk Bikes)
5 Jiri Klekner (Wheelspin Cycles)
6 Phil Hinchcliffe (Bradford RCC)
7 Richard Binks (Clay Cross RT)
8 John Hick (BC Private Member)
9 Pete Wilkin (Fietsen Tempo)
10 Richard Knowles (BC Private Member)
Junior: Tom Seaman
Veteran: Phil Hinchcliffe
Over-50: Pete Wilkin
Woman: Hannah Saville (Norton Wheelers)
1 Julian Holland (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
2 David Uttley (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
3 Mick Crick (BC Private Member)
Woman: Louise Williamson (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
1 Liam Gilpin (Wakefield Junior Tri)
2 Sam Travis (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
3 Dylan Flesher (Harrogate Nova CC)
4 George Fox (East Bradford CC)
5 Harry Cooper (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
6 Eddie Townend (Pedalsport)
Girl: Lucy Whearty (Pedalsport)
Under-14: Eddie Townend
Under-14 girl: Lucy Whearty
1 Henry Hollyman (Pedalsport)
2 Marcus Hiley (Pedalsport)
3 Cameron Branford (Wakefield Junior Tri)
1 Ava Oxley (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
2 Millie Yates (Holme Valley Wheelers)
3 Kayleigh Wells (Yorkshire Velo)
1 Toby Kershaw (Pedalsport)
2 Tom Scott (Sheffield Star)
3 Alex Bailey (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
1 Holly Deavin (Pedalsport)
2 Freya Brearley (East Bradford CC)
3 Elora Foley (Leeds Mercury CC)
1 Oliver Hick (BC Private Member)
2 William Huddleston (Huddersfield Star Wheelers0
3 Dan Deavin (Pedalsport)
1 Beth Howarth (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
2 Alice Feetham (Wakefield Junior Tri)
3 Amber Ford (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.