Cross: Banham clinches victory in West Mids R5

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Baggeridge Country Park, Dudley
Event: 6 October 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/ Snowdon Sports

Peter Banham (Fred Williams Cycles) took his first win of the West Midlands series in fine style on a tough Baggeridge course.

A huge field of 120 riders lined up for the senior and veteran 40-50 event on a course which had a little bit of everything, hard grassy climbs, technical wooded sections and off camber descents.

Banham, aged 25 and from Bromsgrove, has already picked up two seconds and a third in the series but made no mistake this time riding to an eight second victory in a closely fought race.

Behind there was a royal battle for second place between Chris Metcalfe and Jeremy Hicks (Rugby Velo) which resulted in a sprint finish which Metcalfe just edged to claim second place.

The veterans (40-50) again started a minute behind the seniors with Darren Atkins (Team Jewson) taking top honours and riding through the senior field to take fourth overall.

In the veterans (50+), juniors and women’s race, the veterans and juniors started together and Preslav Dimitrov (Solihull CC) was the overall winner and junior winner.

Coming home second overall and first veteran was Michael Davies (Team Pedal Power) with the first women prize going to Hannah Payton (Team CTC).

Joshua Waters (Sherwood Pines Cycles) took his second win of the league in as many weeks in the youth race leading from the front and building up a gap of nearly a minute to win in convincing style.

In the under-14 category Toby Barnes (Lichfield City CC) was victorious, first under-16 girl was Amy Garner (Welland Valley CC) and first under-14 girl was Gabriella Homer (Wolverhampton Whls).

In the under-12 race Simon Wyllie was first boy and Josie Nelson (Solihull CC) was first girl home.

Ben Askey (Lichfield City CC) was first boy home in the under-10’s event and first girl home was his team mate was Daisy Rollason


Seniors/Veterans (40-50)
1 Peter Banham (Fred Williams Cycles)
2 Chris Metcalfe
3 Jeremy Hicks (Rugby Velo)
4 Darren Atkins (Team Jewson) 1st Vet
5 Tom Payton (Islabikes)
6 Andrew Tamplin (Base2Race Cycles)
7 Philip Hinch (Brotherton Cycles)
8 Phil Blacker (Team Jewson) 2nd Vet
9 Colin Miller (Coventry RC)
10 Perry Bowater (Team MG-Maxifuel)

Veteran (50+), Women and Juniors
1 Preslav Dimitrov (Solihull CC) 1st Junior
2 Michael Davies (Team Pedal Power) 1st Vet
3 Anthony Neave (Stourbridge CC)
4 Peter Busby (Team Jewson)
5 James Garratt (Welland Valley CC)
6 Kevin Payton (Stourbridge CC)

1st Woman Hannah Payton (Team CTC)
1st Vet Woman Elizabeth Clayton (Lichfield City CC)

1 Joshua Waters (Sherwood Pines Cycles)
2 Joshua Gunn (Solihull CC)
3 Oliver Dighton (Halesowen A & CC)
1st under-14 boy Toby Barnes (Lichfield City CC)
1st under-16 girl Amy Garner (Welland Valley CC)
1st under-14 girl Gabriella Homer (Wolverhampton Whls)
1st under-12 boy Simon Wyllie
1st under-12 girl Josie Nelson (Solihull CC)
1st under-10 boy Ben Askey (Lichfield City CC)
1st under-10 girl Daisy Rollason (Lichfield City CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.