Cross: Booth takes victory in latest West Midlands League race

Cross: Booth takes victory in latest West Midlands League race

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Tackeroo campsite, Rugeley, Staffordshire
Event: 29 September 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/Snowdon Sports

DAN Booth (Hope Factory Racing) ran out a clear victor in his first appearance at the West Midlands Cyclo Cross League at Tackeroo campsite in Rugeley, Staffordshire.

On a course which involved a variety of wooded single track, fast fire road and some technical sections which were all rideable a good field again assembled.

Straight from the off Booth made the senior race his own followed by Pete Banham who was several minutes behind.

In the veterans/junior and women's race Danny Fox (RST Racing) took his third victory in as many round building up a clear margin like in previous rounds.

The veterans 50+ section was a closer affair with Phil Roach just edging out former National Champion Steve Douce in second place with Mike Welburn (Lichfield City CC) coming home third.

There was an upset in the youth race as Ewan Grivelle-Mellor (Mid Shropshire Whls) suffered his first defeat of the season to William Gascoyne (Matlock CC) who used his mountain bike experience to distance his competitors from the start.


1 Dan Booth (Hope Factory Racing) 51-42
2 Jonathan Harper (unattached) at 1-39
3 Peter Banham (Fred Williams Cycles) at 2-09
4 Jeremy Hicks (Rugby Velo)
5 Jack Humphreys (Wheelbase Altura MGD)
6 Darren Atkins (unattached)
7 Philip Hinch (Brotherton Cycles)
8 Andrew Tamplin (Base 2 Race)
9 Phil Blacker (Team Jewson)
10 Alex McNicol (unattached)

Under-23s: Jack Humphreys. Over-40s: Darren Atkins.

1 Danny Fox (RST RT)
2 Phil Roach (unattached)
3 Anthony Neave (Stourbridge CC)
4 Steve Douce (unattached)
5 Mike Welburn (Lichfield City CC)
6 Pete Howarth (unattached)

Over-50s: Phil Roach. Over-60s: Andy Jones (Wolverhampton Wheelers). Women: Sarah Lomas (unattached). Veteran female: Karen Summers (Wrekinsport CC).

1 Josh Waters (unattached)
2 Will Gasgoine (unattached)
3 Ewan Grivell-Mellor (Mid Shropshire Wh)
4 Jake Stewart (Solihull CC)
5 Louis Kilworth (Welland Valley CC)
6 Keir Lewis (Stratford CC)
Under-14s: Harry Shepard (unattached). Girls: Charlotte Broughton (MG Décor).

1 Emile Alexander (Lichfield City CC)
2 Luke Simmonds (Stratford CC)
3 Simon Wyllie (unattached)

Under-12 Girls: Josie Nelson (Solihull CC).

1 Ben Askey (Lichfield City CC)
2 Christian Stevens (Solihull CC)
3 Alex Barker (Halesowen A&CC).

Under-10 Girls: Daisy Rollason (Lichfield City CC).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.