Cross: Oldham wins in Yorkshire again

Cross: Oldham wins in Yorkshire again

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Thornes Park, Wakefield
Event: 22 September 2013
Report: Clare Crabtree/Snowdon Sports

Such has been Paul Oldham’s dominance of the Yorkshire Points this season that it was decided that a one-minute handicap would be implemented for round four.

But it proved to make little difference as the Hope Factory Racing man chased down the lead and crossed the line 50 seconds ahead of Nick Barnes in second place.

The early leaders of the race were Nick Barnes (Zepnat) and Rob Watson (Dirtwheels) who raced away from the rest of the field over the first four laps.

But then, within five laps, Barnes had managed to drop Watson but he had a new problem with Paul Oldham only 15 seconds behind.

Finally, on the eighth lap, Oldham caught Barnes and overtook him, shooting five seconds further away from Barnes every lap.

Oldham cruised over the line although Barnes was comfortable in second with Watson having hit a tree.

Fresh from his Tour of Ireland ride just two days ago, Dieter Droger (Scott) managed to overhaul Jack Clarkson (Hope Factory Racing) for third.

In veterans race there was no Ian Taylor this week but another Taylor took his place at the head of the veteran race with Pedalsport’s Chris taking victory.

Chris Taylor and Noel Clough (Jedi Cycle Sport) battled it out for the entire race with Clough sticking to the leader like glue.

But on the final lap, Taylor managed to make some breathing space and finished eight seconds ahead of his rival. Chris Young (Pedalsport) picked his way through the field to finish third. Annie Simpson ((Hope Factory Racing) was top woman.

In the youth race, it was a similar head-to-head race with Robert Scott (East Bradford) and Alfie Moses (Paul Milnes Cycles) together for the whole race. It was Robert that nicked victory.


1 Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) 56:03
2 Nick Barnes (Zepnat) @50sec
3 Dieter Droger (Scott) @2:40
4 Jack Clarkson (Hope Factory Racing)
5 Simon Maudsley (Dirtwheels)
6 Daniel Storey (RST)
7 Ben Cooper (Batley Cycling Club)
8 James Dalton (Pedalsport)
9 Andy Nichols (Neonvelo)
10 Jiri Klekner (Unattached)
Junior: Chris Barnes (Zepnat)

1 Chris Taylor (Pedalsport) 45:15
2 Noel Clough (Jedi Cycle Sport) @8sec
3 Chris Young (Pedalsport) @20sec
4 Andy Peace (Jedi Cycle Sport)
5 Adrian Lawrence (Team Elite)
6 Mike Young (Pedalsport)
7 Dan Cook (Peak Cycles)
8 Richard Binks (Clay Cross RT)
9 Marcus Spencer (Batley CC)
10 Phil Hinchcliffe (Bradford RCCC)
Veteran 50: Mark Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing)

1 Annie Simpson (Hope Factory Racing)
2 Nicola Butler (VC St Raphael)
3 Marie Jackson (Paul Milnes Cycles)

1 Robert Scott (East Bradford)
2 Alfie Moses (Paul Milnes Cycles)
3 Joseph Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels)
4 Harry Hardcastle (KCA)
5 Euan Cameron (East Bradford)
Girl: Lucy Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing)

Under 8:
1 Brian Lawrence (Eastern Velo)
2 Oliver Hick (unattached)
3 Dan Deavin (Pedalsport)

Under 10:
1 Toby Kershaw (Pedalsport)
2 Alex Bailey (Huddersfield Star Wheeler)
3 Tom Scott (Sheffield Stars)

Under 12:
1 Ava Oxley (KCA)
2 Aiden Lawrence (Eastand Velo)
3 Benjamin Peatfield (Bolton Hot Wheels)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.