Cross: Gray wins in Wessex League

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Cotswold Airport, Cirencester
Event: 22 September 2013

Luke Gray (Trek Cross Collective) out-sprinted Scott Chalmers (Dream CC) to win his first Wessex League round of the new season.

Having had to settle for two second places so far, Luke went one better at Cotswold Airport near Cirencester. A hard-working course was laid out by the promoting club Cotswold Veldrijden using many parts of the airport including the woods and tarmac runway on what turned out to be a warm sunny day.

From the start Luke, Scott and rounds one and two winner Ben Sumner (Beeline Cycles) got away with Crispin Doyle not too far away.

As they exited the woods close to the start line on lap one Ben hit a banking and rolled a tub which in turn shipped him from his bike. After a quick inspection and only a few yards from the pit he shouldered the bike and ran to the pits for a new bike. This allowed the two leaders to get away and he fell behind Crispin Doyle (Hargroves Cycles).

The order after a couple of laps saw Luke and Scott locked together followed by Crispin 30 seconds back followed by Ben one minute behind the leaders. The next few riders were together and included Dan Lewis (RAF), Matt Hargroves and Matt Woods (Hargroves Cycles) running one minute thirty back.

At the bell the two leaders could not be split and this was the same throughout the lap. As they approached the infield parallel to the finish line they were neck and neck, at the final turn onto the tarmac Luke was quicker into the corner and exited first, slowly easing away to take the win on the line.

Earlier in the day Crispin Doyle (Hargroves Cycles) continued his 100 per cent start to the season making it three from three rounds in the veterans race. This is, in fact, Crispin’s fifth win in three weeks as he has won both mid-week races at the floodlight races in Swindon.

The first two laps saw Crispin just behind team mate and national vet champion Steve Davies, but whilst Steve was quicker in the technical sections Crispin was quicker on the fast flat sections. Having watched Steve’s lines Crispin made his move on lap three and got away.

There was a tough battle behind with Keith Sheridan (Cotswold Veldrijden), Mike Simpson (GS Henley), Will Girvan (North Hants RC) and David Hobbs (Cotswold Veldrijden) running very close together.

As the laps ticked away Doyle was now 32 seconds ahead of Davies, Sheridan was one minute down and now Will Girvan was third and clear of Sean Williams (Wightlink Offshore) in fourth. Also picking up places was Robin Wilmott (Cotswold Veldrijden).

The women’s race was won for the third round running by Claire Smith (Cotswold Veldrijden) who took time off from organising the race to ride.

She was pushed hard by Spanish Rider Merce Pacios (Blue Motors) who was riding her first Wessex League event. The gap between the two women never got too close as Claire was able to judge her position on the open sections of the course, Anna Cipullo (MB Swindon) was third.

In the junior section Joseph Andrews (Fareham Wheelers) was another 100 per cent winner taking his third series win of the season, Cameron Thompson (Andover Wheelers) was second and Jack Saunders (Cotswold Veldrijden) was third. Zoe Sheehan was the first junior girl.

Elliott Lassiter (Cotswold Veldrijden) won the youth race after a tough battle with team mate Tom Sewell. The two mates were running close for a couple of laps until Elliott attacked and stretched his lead.

Rowan Turner (Poole Wheelers) was first in the under 12s race with Anna Wadsworth (Beeline Cycles) the first girl. Madeline Cooper (Chapel Tri Stars) was first under 10 girl and Sam Graham (NHRC) the first under 10 boy.


1st Luke Gray Trek Cyclocross Collective
2nd Scott Chalmers Dream Cycling
3rd Crispin Doyle Hargroves Cycles
4th Ben Sumner Beeline RT
5th Dan Lewis RAF CC

1st Crispin Doyle Hargroves Cycles
2nd Steve Davies Hargroves Cycles
3rd Keith Sheridan Cotswold Veldrijden
4th Will Girvan North Hants RC
5th Sean Williams Wightlink Offshore

1st Claire Smith Cotswold Veldrijden
2nd Merce Pacios Blue Motors
3rd Anna Cipullo MB Swindon

1st Joe Andrews Fareham Wheelers
2nd Cameron Thompson Andover Wheelers
3rd Jack Saunders Cotswold Veldrijden
1st Junior Girl Zoe Sheehan Cotswold Veldrijden

1st Elliott Lassiter Cotswold Veldrijden
2nd Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden
3rd William Crofts Performance Cycles
4th Angus Hawkins PPV
5th Charlie Cooper Chapel Tri-stars

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.