Cross: Oldham wins second round of Yorkshire Points

Cross: Oldham wins second round of Yorkshire Points

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Hambleton Leisure Centre, Northallerton
Event: 8 September 2013
Report: Clare Crabtree/Snowdon Sports
Photo: Shaun Flannery Photography

Second in last season’s National Trophy Series, Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) underlined his form for the coming cross season when he took a comfortable victory in the second round of the Yorkshire Points Series at Hambleton Leisure Centre in Northallerton on Sunday.

The 36-year-old from Colne in Lancashire crossed the line more than two minutes ahead of his nearest rival, Orange Monkey youngster Billy Harding.

Nick Barnes (Zepnat RT) had been the early leader on lap one, but it wasn’t long before Oldham had hit the front and began demolishing much of the field, taking around 20 seconds per lap out of his closest rivals. Behind, a group of four mounted a chase including Dieter Droger (Scott UK), Barnes, Rob Watson and Harding.

With three laps to go Watson dropped off the pace slightly by around 15 seconds, and although he looked to have done enough for fifth spot his rear mech broke on the final lap and he was forced to retire.

While Harding won a close sprint for second spot from Barnes and Droger, there was also a good battle for fifth which Dan Storey (RST Racing) won from Rob Thackray (Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic) after a race-long ding dong.

In the race for veterans and women, Ian Taylor won his second successive race in the series, winning by nearly a minute from former British Champion Chris Young (Pedalsport CC).

At the start of the race a group of five - Young, Taylor, Clough, Denby and Peace – battled on, but soon Taylor pushed into the lead and took a few seconds out of his rivals before heading off into the distance towards an eventual victory.

The four chasers each tried in turn to break clear and chase down Taylor, but without success. On the last lap Chris Young managed to break away for second, while Denby tangled with a back marker on last lap which ended his hopes.

Nicola Butler won the women’s race. Junior Hannah Saville was the early leader, but Butler soon took over and led from then on, while Saville finished as best junior woman.


1 Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) 51:21
2 Billy Harding (Orange Monkey) @ 2:10
3 Nick Barnes (Zepnat RT)
4 Dieter Droger (Team Scott UK) @ same time
5 Dan Storey (RST Racing)
6 Rob Thackray (Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic)
7 Simon Maudsley (Dirtwheels Cycles)
8 Edwin Oliver-Evans (Boneshaker Bikes)
9 David Morris (Harrogate Nova)
10 Ben Cooper (Batley CC)

1 Ian Taylor (Jedi Cycle Sport) 43:37
2 Chris Young (Pedalsport CC) @ 53sec
3 Noel Clough (Jedi Cycle Sport) @ 55sec
4 Andrew Peace (Jedi Cycle Sport) @ 57sec
5 Matt Denby (Team Jewson) @ 1:10
6 Seth Smith (Bradford RCC)
7 Chris Taylor (Pedalsport CC)
8 Richard Binks (Clay Cross RT)
9 Mike Young (Pedalsport CC)
10 Marcus Spencer (Hargroves Cycles)

Veterans 50: Wayne Nicholson (York Cycleworks). Veterans 60: Brian Perks (Pedalsport CC). Veterans 70: John Dowell (Heanor Clarion CC). Women: Nicola Butler (VC St Raphael). Women over-40s: Marie Jackson. Junior women: Hannah Saville (Norton Wheelers). Women over-50s: Hillary Bloor (Crosstrax).

1 Alfie Moses (Paul Milnes) 28:50
2 Robert Scott (East Bradford CC) @ 30sec
3 Ewan Cameron (East Bradford CC) @ 1:09
4 Harry Hardcastle (Kirlees Cycling Academy)
5 Jenson Young (Pedalsport CC)
Girls: Lucy Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing). Under-14s: Ewan Cameron.

1 Eva Oxley (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
2 Marcus Hiley (Pedalsport CC)
3 Henry Hollyman (Kirklees Cycling Academy)

1 Toby Kershaw (Pedalsport CC)
2 Oliver Allers (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
3 Danny Milles (York Cycleworks)

Girls: Astrid Hiley (Pedalsport CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.