Cross: Robinson charges to Queen Victoria cyclo cross victory

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Blist Hill Victorian Town, Telford
Event: 31 August 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/Snowdon Sports
Photos: Richard Preece RDP Photography

Hugo Robinson (Ipswich BC) stormed to his first cyclo cross victory in the first ever Queen Victoria Cyclo Cross.

Taking place in the historic setting of Ironbridge Gorge the race was centred around an old Victorian town which is a local tourist attraction.

Riders started on the main high street before twisting through old buildings and heading down to the finish area which had its own fun fair.

Crowds flocked to the unique event which provided a town centre criterium feel before the route headed out into a wooded area and riders had to contend with an uphill stepped climb up a disused railway line.

An excellent field of 105 riders started senior, veterans and juniors 50 minute race and Robinson, aged 18, from Ipswich stormed to victory in 49 minutes 34 seconds.

Last season Robinson competed in the UCI World Cup events obtaining two top 30 finishes and finished fifth in the under-23 National Championships.

Coming home second was Matthew Lawton from Macclesfield, just 26 seconds behind Robinson and taking third place was local rider Peter Banham.

Ewan Grivell-Mellor (Mid Shropshire Wheelers), aged 14, snatched victory in the shorter youth and ladies race 16 seconds ahead of Hannah Payton from Kingswinford and in third place was Louis Killworth.

In the under-12 event Edward Woodward (Coventry RC) won ahead of Alex Coleston-Shields (Lichfield City CC) and Iwan Evans (Towy Riders).

A special mention must go to Nick Jeggo who organised such a unique event and all of his volunteers and sponsors who made the event possible.


Seniors/Veterans and Juniors:
1 Hugo Robinson (Ipswich BC) in 49 minutes 34 seconds
2 Matthew Lawton (Macclesfield Wheelers) @26 seconds
3 Peter Banham (Fred Williams Cycles) @28 seconds
4 Danny Fox (RST Racing Team) @1 min 44 1st Junior
5 Ben Eedy (Team Empella Cyclo-Cross) @1 min 47
6 Dave Ash (Nottingham Clarion CC) @ 3 min 3 1st Vet 40-49
7 Phil Blacker (Team Jewson) @3 min 13 2nd Vet 40-49
8 Nick Morris (Clee Cycles) @3 min 22
9 Nathan Miller (Team Zenith) @3 min 24
10 Andrew Tamplin (Base2Race Cycles) @3 min 41

1 Ewan Grivell Mellor (Mid Shropshire Whls) in 30 minutes 13 seconds
2 Hannah Payton (Team CTC) @16 seconds
3 Louis Killworth (Welland Valley) @59 seconds
4 Karen Summers (Wrekin Sport CC) @1 min 31 1st Vet
5 Tracey Fletcher (Team Empella Cyclo-Cross)@ 1 min 2 min 30 2nd Vet


1 Edward Woodward (Coventry RC) in 5 minutes 38 seconds
2 Alex Coleston- Shields (Lichfield City CC) @17 seconds
3 Iwan Evans (Towy Riders) @22 seconds

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.