Cross: Hurlock races to victory in opening South West Lge event

Cross: Hurlock races to victory in opening South West Lge event

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Dragon Leisure Centre, Bodmin, Cornwall
Event: 1 September 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Dexter Hurlock (unattached) drew first blood in the South West Cyclo-Cross League on Sunday, racing to victory ahead of experienced veteran Steve Davies (Hargroves Cycles) at the Dragon Leisure Centre in Bodmin.

Better known as a top mountain biker Hurlock, 22 and from Saltash, had 53-year-old Davies on his wheel for long periods before pulling away to victory over a challenging course.

“Last year I raced only MTB in the South West Series, but I bought a cross bike on Friday. I didn’t know what to expect, but I found some good lines and I’m pleased with it,” said Hurlock afterwards.

“I got quite a good start and kept a high pace up, but Steve Davies is a very experienced rider and he caught me. But in the last three laps I found a bit more pace and managed to keep him at bay.

“The course was bone dry and quite flat, but there was a nice wooded section which helped me out quite a bit. There were some nice banks and climbing, so it was a good course with something for everyone.

“I’m not sure how the season will go for me yet: I predominantly ride cross-country and I’m an elite for next year, so I may just train through the winter, or perhaps keep up with the cross and aim for some National Trophy races.”


1 Dexter Hurlock Unattached S 0h 56m 36s

2 Steve Davies Hargroves V +0h 0m 5s

3 Matt Loake Southfork S +0h 1m 49s

4 John Hollier Tour 2000' S +0h 2m 3s

5 Tim Carpenter 360 Performance V +0h 2m 13s

6 Roy Wyle-Smith EliteVelo S +0h 2m 56s

7 James Bovey MDCC V +0h 3m 13s

8 Jay Horton Fully Sussed V +0h 3m 49s

9 Matt Noble Plymouth CX S +0h 4m 22s

10 Simon Young Lanhydrock Wheelers V +0h 4m 24s

11 Martin Wenney Kernow Riders S +0h 5m 9s

12 Alan Drury MDCC V +0h 5m 20s

13 Gary Andrews Certini V +0h 5m 30s

14 Ben Farrer Certini S +0h 5m 33s

15 Richard Taylor Exeter Wheelers V +1 lap + 0h 6m 20s

16 Graham Roberts Tavi Wheelers S +1 lap + 0h 6m 29s

17 Michael Mulroy VeloCake V +1 lap + 0h 6m 32s

18 Alex Dawson Plymouth CX S +1 lap + 0h 6m 43s

19 Steven Holmes Plymouth CX S +1 lap + 0h 6m 56s

20 Alan Vicary SRC V +1 lap + 0h 6m 58s

21 Miles Young Unattached S +1 lap + 0h 7m 27s

22 Paul Hooper 360 Performance V +1 lap + 0h 7m 33s

23 Charles Hough Bike Cellar J +1 lap + 0h 7m 49s

24 Robin Delve MDCC V +1 lap + 0h 8m 6s

25 Carl Austen Elite Velo S +1 lap + 0h 8m 8s

26 Philip Collings Tavi Wheelers S +1 lap + 0h 8m 49s

27 Wayne Hitchcock SRC V +1 lap + 0h 8m 58s

28 Steve Whitehouse One & All V +1 lap + 0h 9m 17s

29 Lucy Allan Fully Sussed W +1 lap + 0h 9m 26s

30 Charlie Mcadzean Cyclo Sport Dynamo J +1 lap + 0h 9m 54s

31 Chris Mabey Plymouth CX V +1 lap + 0h 10m 10s

32 Tom Evans Unattached S +1 lap + 0h 10m 24s

33 Nick Jones VLC V +1 lap + 0h 10m 42s

34 Tom Finnemore Pave Velo S +1 lap + 0h 11m 26s

35 Lee Bradley Unattached V +1 lap + 0h 11m 43s

36 Alan Sanders CS South Hams S +2 laps + 0h 10m 11s

37 Matt Parsons Unattached S +2 laps + 0h 10m 17s

38 Michael poole One & All J +2 laps + 0h 10m 29s

39 Sam Sparks Unattached S +2 laps + 0h 10m 36s

40 Chris Mann 360 Performance V +2 laps + 0h 11m 18s

41 Daniel Young All Trax S +2 laps + 0h 12m 12s

42 Stacey Bray Kernow Riders V +2 laps + 0h 12m 14s

43 Steve Toze Plymouth Corintian S +2 laps + 0h 12m 27s

44 Will Amery PlymouthCX S +2 laps + 0h 12m 45s

45 John Hinds Chard Wheelers V +2 laps + 0h 14m 17s

46 Neil Ayres All Trax S +2 laps + 0h 15m 31s

47 Amy Gallacher Plymouth CX W +2 laps + 0h 15m 39s

48 Ian Warren VeloCake V +2 laps + 0h 16m 49s

49 Andy Collins Revo Racing V +2 laps + 0h 16m 58s

50 Jon Dodwell Unattached V +3 laps + 0h 15m 22s

51 Paul Morshead KWK Promo V +3 laps + 0h 17m 24s

52 Fiona Murphy Unattached W +3 laps + 0h 17m 25s

53 Iain Robinson Unattached V +3 laps + 0h 17m 43s

54 Richard Coleman-Taylor Trial Snail Racing S +3 laps + 0h 18m 4s

55 Nigel Worsey Lydford CC V +3 laps + 0h 19m 41s

56 Penny Allan Yogi W +3 laps + 0h 19m 50s

57 Nicola Shan Unattached W +4 laps + 0h 22m 16s

58 James Davey MDCC S +4 laps + 0h 1m 7s

59 John Morse VeloCake V +5 laps + 0h 3m 11s

60 +10 laps + 0h 3m 34s


1 Harry Birchall MDCC U14 0h 28m 40s

2 Charlie Meredith MDCC U16 +0h 2m 5s

3 Max Hinds Chard Wheelers U14 +0h 2m 24s

4 Ryan Dunn CS Dynamo U16 +0h 5m 2s

5 Evie Lane Unattached U14 +1 lap + 0h 6m 25s

6 Ross Pratt MDCC U14 +1 lap + 0h 13m 23s

7 Tom Gibbs MDCC U14 +2 laps + 0h 13m 37s


1 Freddy Birchall MDCC U12 0h 9m 0s

2 Evan Richards Chard Wheelers U12 +0h 0m 34s

3 Sam Medlyn One & All U12 +0h 0m 42s

4 Kerian Colling MDCC U12 +0h 0m 50s

5 Ruby Faun Unattached U12 +0h 2m 31s

6 Ethan Jones Chard Wheelers U12 +0h 2m 33s

7 Agnes Hamill RUTT U12 +0h 3m 3s

8 Solomon Drury MDCC U10 +0h 3m 17s

9 Felix Faun One & All U10 +0h 3m 29s

10 Jonny Pickering One & All U10 +0h 3m 43s

11 Eli Pickering One & All U8 +1 lap + 0h 4m 28s

12 Oliver Jones Unattached U8 +1 lap + 0h 5m 26s

13 Imogen Jones Chard Wheelers U10 +1 lap + 0h 6m 27s

14 Edward Young All Trax U8 +1 lap + 0h 6m 36s

15 Megan Dodwell Unattached U10 +1 lap + 0h 8m 49s

16 Hayley Wyle-Smith Elite Velo U8 +1 lap + 0h 9m 14s

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.