Cross: Chalmers wins again in Cotswold Series

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Cotswold Airport, Cirencester
Event: 11 August 2013
Report: Andy Smith/Snowdon Sports
Photos: Tony Smith

The sun shone at Cotswold Airport near Kemble, and the fast dry conditions bought a few more riders out for round two of the Cotswold Veldrijden Summer Cross Series on Sunday.

But none could stop Scott Chalmers (Dream CC) from taking a second consecutive victory in the seniors race.

40 riders lined up for S/J/W/V event with last week’s top two ready to do battle again. From the start a group of four broke clear and sped through the course on the very fast dry circuit with little time to take in the sights of the Britannia!

Peter Banham of Freds RT led for the first few laps with Scott Chalmers of Dream CC, Dan Lewis of RAF CA and Benoit Davies of Cheltenham CC close on his heels. The fast pace saw Davies gapped and the other three continued on before Banham took a tumble and dropped to third, leaving Lewis and Chalmers to fight it out.

Lewis attempted to drop Chalmers but overcooked a bend and also took a tumble. He remounted and they were soon back together, Chalmers led into the final corner and sprinted out of it to take the win.

Robin Wilmott of Cotswold Veldrijden tried in vain to catch the four ahead of him but just couldn't close the gap and had to settle for fifth place and first veteran. Chris Rothwell of SCRA worked his way through the field to finish sixth and first junior. Beth George of Cotswold Veldrijden was first woman.

A total of nine youngsters took to the line for the first race, run over 15 minutes of a shortened circuit using the grass and woods. The winner from start to finish was Luke Simmonds (Stratford CC) who was followed by his sister Cerys in second spot. A special mention to Katy Goodson who raced on her balance bike!

Luke Simmonds made a blistering start to the Youth Race, but was soon caught by his team mate Keir Lewis and Xavier ST of Sullivan Touge, these two broke clear of Simmonds and battled hard with each other over the 4 laps with Lewis taking the win on the line.



1st Scott Chalmers Dream CC S

2nd Dan Lewis RAF CA S

3rd Peter Banham Freds RT S

4th Benoit Davies Cheltenham S

5th Robin Wilmot Cotswold Veldrijden V50 (1st Vet)

6th Chris Rothwell SCRA J (1st Junior)

7th Pete Hutchinson Cotswold Veldrijden V

8th Andy Webb Kenilworth Wheelers V

9th John Dalton Cheltenham V40

10th Donald McGregor Cheddar CC V50

11th Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden J at 1 lap

12th Callum Haseler Cotswold Veldrijden S at 1 lap

13th Steven Green Bristol South CC V at 1 lap

14th Ian Morris V40 at 1 lap

15th Paul Crossley VC Montpellier V40 at 1 lap

16th Dave Lee NFTO Race V50 at 1 lap

17th Robin Akers Oxonian V50 at 1 lap

18th Chris Tatton V45 at 1 lap

19th Pete Langford N/A V40 at 1 lap

20th Rob Dentry Cotswold Veldrijden S at 1 lap

21st Paul Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden V40 at 1 lap

22nd William Russell Sodbury Cyclesport J at 1 lap

23rd Andy Smith Cotswold Veldrijden S at 1 lap

24th Craig Scott Cotswold Veldrijden V40 at 1 lap

25th Craige Goodson N/A V40 at 1 lap

26th Paul Loosemore Striking Bikes V40 at 1 lap

27th Simon Edwards-Paton Kingston Wheelers S at 1 lap

28th John Hawes Cheltenham v at 1 lap

29th Nick Smale Cheltenham S at 2 laps

30th Robin Simmons Stratford CC S at 2 laps

31st Joe Deacon Hargroves Cycles S at 2 laps

32nd Keith Rothwell Cotswold Veldrijden V50 at 2 laps

33rd James Roberts N/A S at 2 laps

34th Marc Roberts Swindon RC S at 2 laps

35th Beth George Cotswold Veldrijden W at 3 laps

36th Gayner Davies Cheltenham W at 4 laps

DNF Mike Holborow Cotswold Veldrijden S DNF at 7 laps

DNF David Buckle Gloucester City V60 DNF at 5 laps

DNF Paul Wood Swindon Wheelers V50 DNF at 4 laps

DNF Tom Underhill Hackney Gt S DNF at 1 lap


1st Kier Lewis Stratford CC

2nd Xavier St

3rd Luke Simmonds Stratford CC

4th Abbie Manley Chapel Tri

5th Liam Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden

6th Claire Neil Stratford CC at 1 lap

7th Natalie Moore Swindon RC at 1 lap

Under 12

1st Luke Simmonds Stratford CC

2nd Cerys Simmonds Stratford CC

3rd Sam Yates N/A at 1 lap

4th Ollie Walker Cotswold Veldrijden at 1 lap

5th Otis Yates N/A at 2 laps

6th Andrew Loosemore Striking Bikes at 2 laps

7th Amy Goodson N/a at 4 laps

8th Aidan Scott N/a at 4 laps

9th Katy Goodson N/a at 6 laps

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.