Cross: Taylor wraps up YCCA Series title

Cross: Taylor wraps up YCCA Series title

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Brooksbank School, Elland, West Yorkshire
Event: 7 August 2013
Report and Photo: Clare Crabtree

Ian Taylor wrapped up the YCCA/Pedalsport Summer Series with another outstanding win, coming in a similar fashion to the last round: he attacked with a few laps to go and once free, increased his lead steadily to win with nearly a minute gap over his nearest rival Nick Barnes.

At the start, it was Barnes who lead the field out but quickly Taylor had joined him with Dirt Wheels rider Jake Poole close behind. However, Taylor and Barnes soon distanced Poole and had a 30 second lead by halfway through the race. It was with three laps to go that Taylor made his move a first took a few seconds over Barnes but he increased his lead every lap to win by 47 seconds.

The top ten riders were constantly changing position throughout the race with the relentless hills of the Brooksbank venue taking their toll on the riders. Andy Peace came through from ninth on the first lap to sitting in third at halfway but Jiri Klekner was showing his strength and had taken third with a few laps to go.

Rob Watson had also been up in third position but fell back down the field then came back through to take fourth at the finish. Ben Hallworth was always in the top ten and came through in fifth to get the better of Peace and James Dalton. Nikola Butler was the top lady.

In the Under 14 race Jenson Young took the win – he had taken the lead and had a gap over the chasers by the second lap and went on to win by quite a margin. Matt Taylor came through to take second place getting away from Thomas Nelson halfway through the race.

Young took the series too, his final round win clinching a very close battle he has been having with Nelson. Lucy Horrocks was again the first female rider home.

Provisional Results:


1 Ian Taylor Jedi Cyclesport
2 Nick Barnes Zepnat
3 Jiri Klekner
4 Rob Watson Paul Milnes
5 Ben Hallworth Ilkley CC
6 Andrew Peace Jedi Cyclesport
7 James Dalton Pedalsport
8 Jake Poole Dirtwheels Cycles
9 Seth Smith
10 Matt. Denby Jewson
11 Rick Crabtree Pedalsport
12 Chris Taylor Pedalsport
13 Rider number 358
14 Mike Young Pedalsport
15 Richard Binks Clay Cross RT
16 Duncan Warner Airedale Olympic
17 Stephan Macina J.D. Cycles
18 Graeme Bird
19 Matthew Worton Blackhawk Bikes
20 Tim Kershaw Pedalsport
21 Robert Scott EBCC
22 David Kinloch Ilkley CC
23 Mark Horrocks Team Hope
24 Lee Brown Holme Valley Wheelers
25 Rider number 361
26 Marcus Spencer Hargreaves Cycles
27 Rob Thackray Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic
28 Gavin Chatterton Ilkley CC
29 Tim Small Airevalley RT
30 David Jennaway
31 Stephen Bottomley Crosstrax
32 Matthew Bates
33 Andy Whitworth Huddersfield RC
34 John Wood Finsbury Park
35 Chris Barnes Zepnat
36 Chris Ward Hudds.Star Wheelers
37 Rider number 348
38 Rider number 363
39 Ivan Boyes Hudds.Star Wheelers
40 Josh Bennett Seacroft Wheelers
41 Simon Pateman Saddleworth Clarion
42 Graham Piccavey Hudds.Star Wheelers
43 Michael Burdon Ilkley CC
44 Rider number 368
45 Rider number 351
46 Justin Taylor Pedalsport
47 Ally Wight Hardrock hoodlums
48 James Atkinson All Terrain Cycles
49 Rider number 365
50 Rider number 357
51 Scott Weston Crosstrax
52 Steve Rimmer Holme Valley Wheelers
53 Timothy Bull Ilkley CC
54 Andrew Tones
55 Rider number 362
56 Mark Rushby Pedalsport
57 Brian Perks Pedalsport
58 Nikola Butler Pedalsport
59 David Shaw Huddersfield Star Wheelers
60 Jon Hobson Hope Factory Racing
61 Matthew Cox Ilkely AC
62 Giles Perkins North Cheshire Clarion
63 Paul Sleaford Norton Wheelers
64 Jay Hudson
65 Rider number 364
66 Peter Bradford Paul milnes/Brad.Oly
67 Phil Wood Triangle
68 Ben Appleby Alford Wheelers
69 Renee Saxton
70 Giles Bailey Huddersfield Star Wheelers
71 Nick Waggett Here Come The Belgians
72 Jonathan Breen Ilkley CC
73 Liam Gilpin Wakefield Jun.Tri.Club
74 Dick Ballentine Craven Energy
75 Ian Welloch Condor RC
76 John Graveling
77 Adam Cooper HCTB
78 Owen Henriksen Norton Wheelers
79 John Redmond Paul Milnes/Brad.Oly.
80 Rider number 366
81 Liz. Taylor Pedalsport
82 Paul Nutton Here Come The Belgians
83 Rider number 355
84 Martin Bradford
85 Kevin Dowson Hetton Hawkes
86 Sarah Rowell
87 Mark Royle North Cheshire Clarion
88 Sam Galloway
89 Luke Benn Paul Milnes/KCA
90 H. Nicholson
91 Mark Warriner Pedalsport
92 Joe Williams Holme Valley Wheelers
93 Juliet Horrocks Hope Factory Racing
94 B. Peace BRCC Lynn Motors
95 Dave Topping
96 Andrew Hatfield Ilkey CC
97 Dave Clark Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic
98 Peter Dukes Hudds.Star Wheelers
99 Peter Dixon
100 Rider number 370
101 Steve Cavell Condor RC
102 Nicky Hartle Dirtwheels Cycles
103 Paul Gray Doncaster
104 Rider number 360
105 Gary Severn
106 Fred Rothwell Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic
107 Joe Parker EBCC


1 Jenson Young Pedalsport
2 Matt Taylor Pedalsport
3 Thomas Nelson Pedalsport
4 Jacob Feetham Wakefield Junior Tri
5 Euan Cameron East Bradford CC
6 Rider number 155
7 Max Rushby Pedalsport
8 Jim Brown KCA
9 Lucy Horrocks Hope
10 Mason Hollyman KCA
11 Simeon Young Pedalsport
12 Sophie Thackray Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic RT
13 Henry Hollyman KCA
14 Eddie Townend
15 Ben Dowson Hetton Hawks
16 Aaron Brayshaw East Bradford CC
17 Marcus Hiley Pedalsport
18 Jonny Gill Ilkley
19 Tom Whitworth Huddersfield RC
20 Rider number 160
21 Lucy Whearty Pedalsport
22 Rider number 157
23 Tom Sheard KCA
24 Alex Bailey Huddersfield Star Wheelers
25 Adam Jackson Huddersfield Star Wheelers
26 Adam Bailey Huddersfield Star Wheelers
27 Tom Scott Sheffield Stars
28 Wiliiam Thackray Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic RT
29 Oliver Akers Huddersfield Star Wheelers
30 Rider number 158
31 Matthew Wariner Pedalsport
32 Ruby Boyes Huddersfield Star Wheelers
33 Ben Jackson Huddersfield Star Wheelers
34 Rider number 169
35 Joseph Ibbotson Huddersfield Star Wheelers
36 Rider number 170
37 Ben Lawson
38 Rider number 159
39 Dylan Boyes Huddersfield Star Wheelers
40 Josh Charlesworth
41 Amos Dukes Huddersfield Star Wheelers
42 Harry Metcalfe
43 Harry fox East Bradford CC
44 Rider number 167
45 Will Lampkin
46 Astrid Hiley Pedalsport
47 Olivia Fox East Bradford CC
48 Jack Edwards Huddersfield Star Wheelers
49 Rider number 163
50 Rider number 165
51 Rider number 162
52 Harry Cooper-Oldroyd KCA

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.