Cross: Chalmers wins Cotswold Series opener

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Cotswold Airport, Cirencester
Event: 4 August 2013
Report: Andy Smith/Snowdon Sports
Photos: James Britton

Dull skies and persistent showers greeted riders for the first of a series of four races hosted by Cotswold Veldrijden at the Cotswold airport near Cirencester.

The course was a mixture of tarmac, perimeter track, flat fast grass sections, some technical wide wooded section's. With an old RAF Bristol Britannia in the background 30 riders lined up in the combined S/J/V/W race.

Within half a lap a group of four pulled away from the main field, Peter Banham (Fred's RT), Scott Chalmers (Dream Cycles), Dan Lewis (RAF CC) and Crispin Doyle (Hargroves), and this group had pulled away by about 45 seconds by the second lap.

At this point the four were now down to three as Banham had punctured. He made it to the pits for a wheel change but this lost him many places.

Aaron Tayler (Cotswold Veldrijden) and Preslaw Dimitrou had now started to close the gap and due to the Banham's puncture - and now a mechanical from Doyle - each moved up two places.

Chalmers put in a big effort after four laps and managed to gap Lewis while Doyle and Banham rode hard to regain their earlier good placings.

At the finish Scott Chalmers took the chequered flag in a seemingly easy victory from Lewis in second and Doyle third after a great fight back. Fourth went to a very happy Taylor of the hosting team Cotswold Veldrijden.

Both the Under 12 and youth race were well supported with 14 and 7 riders respectively, an excellent win was taken by Luke Simmonds of Stratford CC in the youth race after also winning the U12 race.

Round 2 is on August 11, again at the Cotswold Airport.


1 Scott Chalmers (Dream Cycles)
2 Dan Lewis (RAF CC)
3 Crispin Doyle (Hargroves Cycles)
4 Aaron Taylor (Cotswold Veldrijden)
5 Peter Banham (Fred’s RT)
6 Preslaw Dimitrou (Solihull CC)
7 John Dalton (Cheltenham)
8 Pat Alexander (Cheltenham)
9 Nigel Brown (Westbury Wheelers)
10 Tom Underhill (Hackney GT)

1 Luke Simmons (Stratford CC)
2 Ciara Hutchinson (Cotswold Veldrijden)
3 Jamie Kimber (Cotswold Veldrijden)

1 Luke Simmons (Stratford CC)
2 Thomas Rowland (Cotswold Veldrijden)
3 Ella Shaftoe (Cotswold Veldrijden)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.