Cross: London win gives Webber a weekend double

Cross: London win gives Webber a weekend double

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Willington School, Dartford, Kent
Event: 20 January 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Winner of the Eastern League round the day before, Matt Webber (Hackney GT) completed a weekend double in the snow at Willington School.

The 38-year-old Londoner was soon at the head of affairs in the five-lap London League round, and although he was one of many to take a tumble in the tricky wooded section, he was never headed to come home with an advantage of around 50 seconds over closest challenger Jack Finch (PM Racing) after 57 minutes of hard work.

Finch held the leader in sight without ever being able to completely close the gap in driving snow which fell throughout the event but which kept the racing surface nice and crisp.

Darren Barclay (Arctic SRAM) looked set for third place for most of the race but, recovering from flu, he tired in the closing stages and was overhauled by Ben Lewis (Hackney GT), who pulled clear of companion Jules Birks (VC Londres) and, going past Barclay, finished strongly to close to within 20 seconds of Finch.

Chris McGovern (Sutton CC) was first junior in eighth place, one ahead of leading veteran Doug Fox (Crawley Wheelers), while Gretel Warner (WXC World Racing) came out on top in a close scrap with Sophia Joy (PM Racing) for the women’s honours.


1 Matt Webber (Hackney GT)
2 Jack Finch (PM Racing)
3 Ben Lewis (Hackney GT)
4 Darren Barclay (Arctic SRAM)
5 Jules Birks (VC Londres)
6 Paul Shears (Vicious Velo)
7 Gabor Doroghazi (BC Private Member)
8 Chris McGovern (Sutton CC)
9 Doug Fox (Crawley Wheelers)
10 James Fury (Team Darenth)

1 Doug Fox
2 George Higgs (Crawley Wheelers)
3 Bruce Mackie (Lea Valley YCC)

1 Chris McGovern
2 James Fury

1 Gretel Warner (WXC World Racing)
2 Sophia Joy (PM Racing)

1 Anthony Anderson (Kingston Wheelers)
2 Sam Titmarsh (Team Darenth)
3 Mathew Clements (Lea Valley YCC)
Girl: Holly McMahon (Tam Darenth)

1 Ben Tulett (Hargroves Cycles)
2 Noah Charlton (VC Deal)
3 Sion Margrave (Team Darenth)
Girl: Megan McMahon (Team Darenth)

1 Joe Blackmore (HHYCC)
2 Joe Kiely
3 Kane Petrie
Girl: Charlotte McGreevy (Team Darenth)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.