Cross: Webber wins in Central League

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Hillingdon circuit, London
Event: 16 December 2012

Matthew Webber (Hackney GT) led from start to finish in strong ride to see him claim victory and a sunny but chilly Hillingdon circuit in London.

His overall winning margin was almost a minute over second placed senior rider Sylvain Garde (Addiscombe CC). In between these two was first veteran rider Sean Williams (Wightlink-Offshore).

From the start of the long tarmac run out a small group of five riders began to form on the front and it was these five that were to maintain position on the road. As the first lap was completed Matthew had a lead over Sylvain of 28 seconds, with Sean close by.

The next group contained Matt Holmes and Dennis Lisbygd ( but they had started to lose ground the leaders and also carving through the pack was Darren Barclay.

With Matthew controlling his race, Dennis was 5secs back with Sean, Sylvain and Matt Holmes in a race together. Coming through the field was American rider Andrea Smith (Ladies First Racing) on a flying visit in the country on route to next weekend’s world cup race in Namur in Belgium; she was soon mixing it with the senior men and even enjoyed the chance to change her bike on each lap.

With a lap to go Matthew led Sean by 25secs with Sylvain a further 14 seconds behind back and these places remained to the finish. With the race being combined Matthew won the senior race with Sylvain finishing third on the road but second senior with Dennis third. Sean took second overall and first vet almost seven minutes clear of Roy Chamberlain.

In the women’s race Sarah Woods was having a tussle with Melissa Brand throughout the race until she found a way past with two laps to go. So Andrea took the win ahead of Melissa and Sarah third and taking the first veteran.

The first junior boy was Jason Pitt (AW Cycles) and first junior girl was Sasha Quarrington (Team Zappi’s).

The youth race was all sorted within the first lap when Luke Morgan opened out a lead from Buanna Ball leaving the rest in his wake and winning comfortably by 50secs. Henry Dawson was third and nearly 2mins adrift.

The day started with races for under 10s and under 12s. Anna Wadsworth (PPV) pulled away early on and won by 1:04 from Alex Russell and Alex Wetherill both Team Milton Keynes in the under 10s.

Ben Tulett (Hargroves Cycles) was gridded at the back not being a Central rider and he stormed to front with a few hundred meters of the start and was never challenged all race. The race for second was not too easy as Jay Allen and Angus Hawkins (PPV) along with Thomas Timberlake were very well matched.

Jay found some space and set about putting some distance over the other two. Angus on the other hand found the conditions harder work and he slipped back.


1 Matthew Webber Hackney GT 1:04:47
2 Sylvain Garde Addiscombe CC @ 56sec
3 Dennis Lisbygd @ 1:24
4 Matt Holmes
5 Darren Barclay

1 Sean Williams Wightlink-Offshore 1:05:18
2 Roy Chamberlain Corley Cycles @ 6:56
3 Nick Welsh GS Invicta @ 9:20
4 Stuart Lockyear
5 Paul Mace

1 Andrea Smith ladies first racing 1hr 06mins 24secs
2 Melissa Brand Pretorius Bikes
3 Sarah Woods Wightlink/Offshore 1st Vet
4 Christina White 2nd Vet
5 Annette Bell
6 Solvig Findlay 3rd Vet

Youth Under 16:
1 Luke Morgan 35:14
2 Buanna Ball @ 50sec
3 Henry Dawson @ 1:08
4 Charles Page @1:18
5 George Jary @ 2:55

Youth Under 14:
1 Cai Davies
2 Zak Coleman
3 William Raymond

1 Steve Parker
2 Max Gioger
3 Caroline Smith
4 Ulrika Kuoppa
5 Molly Cooper

Under 10s:
1 Anna Wadsworth PPV 12:21
2 Alex Russell Team Milton Keynes @ 1:04
3 Alex Wetherill Team Milton Keynes @ 2:09

Under 12s:
1 Ben Tulett Hargroves Cycles 17:20
2 Jay Allen PPV @ 49sec
3 Thomas Timberlake @1:11

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.