Cross: Pugh wins penultimate round of Welsh League

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Lower Porthamel Farm, Talgarth
Event: December 2 2012
Report: Liz Slater

Jonathan Pugh (CycleTec) enjoyed another victory in the penultimate round of the Welsh League on a muddy course at Porthamel Farm near Talgarth in Powys.

Veterans Mark James (Team Jewson/MI Racing) and Ian Jeremiah (Cardiff JIF) were the nearest chasers after Ben Simmons retired with a broken rear mech.

Pugh built up a lead of nearly a minute by the finish while James and Jeremiah fought their own battle behind.

Jeremiah closed back up to James with three laps to go and finally overhauled him within sight of the finish to take second place and first Veteran.

Jonathan Pugh said after the race: “I didn’t have the best of starts, it was quite dangerous with everyone bunched together and all the mud.

“I sat back a bit and then started to pick my way through the field. I had to change bikes for a lap because the mud was clogging it up so I used an old mountain bike for one lap but it didn’t really cost me any time.

“As the track thawed out the mud just got worse and worse. That’s my fourth win now and it puts me at the top of the league so I’m going to ride the Welsh Championships next week then finish this off at the final event in Cardiff.”

Juniors Dan Colman (West Wales Cycle Racing) and Manon Lloyd (Towy Riders) took victory in their respective categories.

It was a worthwhile journey over the Severn Bridge for U16 Harry Sowden (Clayton Cars) as he held off U14 Tomos Nesham (Newport Velo) to take his second win of the season and confirm the course as a favourite of his.

Talent Team rider Ffion James (Abergavenny RC) was first U16 Girl and Elizabeth Bennett (Cardiff JIF) first U14.


1 Jonathan Pugh (CycleTec) 12 laps in 54.30 S
2 Ian Jeremiah (Cardiff JIF) @ 55 secs V40
3 Mark James (Team Jewson/MI Racing) @ 56 secs V40
4 Lee Davies ( S
5 Tim Davies (CC Abergavenny) V40
6 Ross Porter (Cwmcarn Paragon) V40
7 Grant Leavy (Cycle Coaching Wales) S
8 Graham Edwards (Abergavenny RC) V50
9 Luke Cornish (Cwmcarn Paragon) S
10 Adrian Peall (Forza Cycles) S
Ian Jeremiah
Dan Colman (West Wales Cycle Racing)
Manon Lloyd (Towy Riders)
1 Harry Sowden (Clayton Cars) U16
2 Tomos Nesham (Newport Velo) U14
3 Alister Williams (Abergavenny RC) U16
4 Jared Brooks (Abergavenny RC) U16
5 Hefin Evans (Towy Riders) U16
U16 Girl:
Ffion James (Abergavenny RC)
U14 Boy:
Tomos Nesham
U14 Girl:
Elizabeth Bennett (Cardiff JIF)
U12 Boy:
Owain Roberts (Towy Riders)
U12 Girl:
Eluned King (Towy Riders)
U10 Boy:
Joshua Tarling (West Wales Cycle Racing)
U10 Girl:
Isabelle Bennett (Cardiff JIF)
U8 Boy:
Oscar Davies (unattached)
U8 Girl:
Bethany Bennett (Towy Riders)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.