Cross: Harding pulls clear for Bingley win

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Myrtle Park, Bingley
Event: 25 November 2012
Report and Photos: Clare Crabtree/Snowdon Sports
Additional Photos: Jo Allen

Round Three winner Billy Harding (Paul Milnes RT) returned to the top of the podium with victory at Myrtle Park on a day when bike maintenance was key in the testing conditions with a double pit in operation and the volume of mud and leaves on the course making it practical for some to run on the more difficult sections.

Benny Pygott (Paul Milnes RT) set the early pace on the opening field leg, but fellow junior Harding took the lead going into the woods for the first time and opened up a gap of ten seconds over Neal Crampton (Crosstrax), the winner of the previous round.

With two laps to go Crampton had halved the deficit, but it was the signal for 16-year-old Harding, from Bradford, to turn the screw and he was 15 seconds clear at the bell before piling on the pace to cross the line over two minutes in front.

Behind the two leaders the picture changed continually with pit stops playing a major role before Rob Watson (Dirtwheels Cycles) emerged in a comfortable third position, closing to within 18 seconds of Crampton at the finish, while a close battle for the next four places went to James Dalton (Pedalsport CC).

Winner Andy Peace (Crosstrax) and Ian Taylor (Craven Energy) were locked together until the last two laps of the veterans race when a mechanical problem cost the latter some 25 seconds as he was forced to run to the pits for a bike change with the final gap stretching out to 39 seconds.

Pedalsport team-mates Chris Young and Chris Taylor were also together for most of the race until Young broke away to secure third place with Dan Cook (Planet X) holding on in a sprint to secure fifth place after Mike Young (Pedalsport CC) had clawed his way up to his rival’s wheel.

Chris Barnes (Zepnat RT) chalked up another youth win, but he was fully extended by Tom Seaman (Wakefield Junior Tri) who was only four seconds adrift at the finish.


1 Billy Harding (Paul Milnes RT) 49-58
2 Neal Crampton (Crosstrax) at 2-06
3 Rob Watson (Dirtwheels Cycles) at 2-24
4 James Dalton (Pedalsport CC)
5 Nick Barnes (Zepnat RT)
6 Tom Last (Sigma Sport)
7 Benny Pygott (Paul Milnes RT)
8 Matthew Downes (Paul Milnes RT)
9 Andy Johnson (Yorkshire Velo)
10 Rich Crabtree (Pedalsport CC)
Junior: Billy Harding.

1 Andy Peace (Crosstrax) 47-46
3 Ian Taylor (Craven Energy) at 39 sec
3 Chris Young (Pedalsport CC) at 1-58
4 Chris Taylor (Pedalsport CC)
5 Dan Cook (Planet X)
6 Mike Young (Pedalsport CC)
7 Stephen Bottomley (Crosstrax)
8 Robin Bradbury (Aire Valley RT)
9 John Hick (Holme Valley Wheelers)
10 Phil Hinchcliffe (Bradford RCC)

1 Marie Jackson (Paul Milnes RT)
2 Laura Jolly (Here Come The Belgians)
3 Andrea Rodgers (Norton Wheelers)

1 Chris Barnes (Zepnat RT) 27-47
2 Tom Seaman (Wakefield Junior Tri) at 4 sec
3 Alfie Moses (Paul Milnes RT) at 1-44
4 Robert Scott (East Bradford CC)
5 Harry Hardcastle (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
Girl: Amira Mellor (Holme Valley Wheelers)

1 Jenson Young (Pedalsport CC)
2 Finn Cooper (Kirklees CA)
3 Louis Cook (Holme Valley Wheelers)

1 Ava Oxley (Wakefield Junior Tri)
2 Amy Hinchcliffe (Wakefield Junior Tri)
3 Ruby Boyles (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)

1 Sam Kuldune
2 Toby Kershaw (Pedalsport CC)
3 Alex Bailey (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)

1 Paula Hinchcliffe (Wakefield Junior Tri)
2 Rosie Robinson
3 Elisa Arrow
Under-8 boy: Oliver Hick
Under-8 girl: Freya Hatfield

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.