Cross: Metcalfe and Lee take victories in Norton Trophy Races

Home » Cyclo-cross

Chris Metcalfe and Diane Lee were celebrating victories in the Norton Trophy Races staged at the Graves Tennis and Leisure Centre in Sheffield on Sunday.

Metcalfe, the 30-year-old Charge Bikes rider from Matlock, won the senior race, while Zepnat RT’s Diane Lee, 27 and from Derbyshire, was the best of the women following her win in the previous day’s SRAM Notts and Derby League race.

After the bunch struggled along an uphill starting straight at Graves Park, Metcalfe was one of the first to reach the top and settled into a strong rhythm which saw him take the lead early on and never look back.

He crossed the line almost two minutes ahead of his nearest rival after gradually eking out his lead lap by lap. Sheffield-based rider James Thompson, 35 and riding for Hope Factory Racing, took second spot at 1:54, while nine seconds further back was Wakefield’s Tom Randall (Rock Racing).

In the women’s race Lee proved too strong for her rivals, with 48-year-old Lynn Bland (Norton Wheelers) taking second and Craven Energy’s Karen Ballantine, 43 and from Keighley, took third.

Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club celebrated a one-two in the youth race with Tom Seaman winning from team-mate Jacob Feetham, while Kirklees Cycling Academy rider Harry Hardcastle took third. Hannah Saville (Norton Wheelers) was the best of the girls.

Another Kirklees rider, Fin Cooper was the pick of the Under-12 riders, while Amy Hinchcliffe (Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club) was best girl in the Under-12s.

Pedalsport CC’s Marcus Hiley won the Under-10s race, while Chloe Hinchcliffe (Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club) won the under-10 girls event.


1 Chris Metcalfe (Charge Bikes) 51:16
2 James Thompson Hope Factory Racing) @ 1:54
2 Tom Randall (Rock Racing) @ 2:05
4 John Hick (Holme Valley Wheelers) @ 2:25
5 Dan Cook (Planet X)
6 Robin Bradbury (Aire Valley)
7 Matt Down (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic)
8 Rick Crabtree (Pedalsport CC)
9 Phil Hinchcliffe (Bradford RCC)
10 Duncan Warner (Airedale Olympic)

1 Diane Lee (Zepnat RT)
2 Lynn Bland (Norton Wheelers)
3 Karen Ballantine (Craven Energy)

1 Tom Seaman (Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club) 24:18
2 Jacob Feetham (Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club) @ 1:47
3 Harry Hardcastle (Kirklees Cycling Academy) @ 2:37
Girls: Hannah Saville (Norton Wheelers). Under-14s: Jacob Feetham.

1 Fin Cooper (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
2 Henry Hollyman (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
3 Morgan Merzaali (Bronte Wheelers)

Under-12 girls:
1 Amy Hinchcliffe (Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club)
2 Emily Marsden (unattached)
3 Ellen Patton (unattached)

1 Marcus Hiley (Pedalsport CC)
2 Alex Bailey (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
3 Tom Scott (Sheffield Stars)

1 Chloe Hinchcliffe (Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club)
2 Frances (Hodgson (Holme Valley Wheelers)
3 Ella Hanson (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)

Under-8 Boys: Oliver Sibbald (Sheffield Stars). Under-8 girls: Astrid Hiley (Pedalsport CC).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.