Cross: Bryan wins latest Notts and Derby Lge race

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: National Watersports Centre, Holme Pierrepont
Event: 17 November 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

National over-40s Champion Jim Bryan (Zepnat RT) secured victory in the latest round of the SRAM Notts and Derby League at the National Watersports Centre in Holme Pierrepont near Nottingham on Saturday.

The 41-year-old from Matlock in Derbyshire was 19 seconds clear of his nearest rival at the end of a long four-lap course, taking a second consecutive win in the series to add to the third spot he secured in round seven.

Bryan, who is also the reigning National Trophy Series 40-49 champion as well as National Championship winner, held off Fossa Racing duo Lee Shunburne and Andy Naylor to take the win.

Bryan is not defending his National Trophy title this year, allowing him to focus on the SRAM Notts and Derby League.

Shunburne, 35 and from Ashover in Derbyshire, took second spot, 19 seconds behind Bryan, while team-mate Andy Naylor, 32 and from Hucknall in Nottingham, was 51 seconds off the pace to secure.

Fastest of the under-23 riders was Oliver Watson (Derwent Valley ATC) in seventh place.

While Bryan was winning the men’s race, Zepnat team-mate Diane Lee won the women’s race convincingly.

She lapped all her rivals, with Matlock CC filling the next three places with Marianne Heffron taking second, Christine Howard third and Sarah Kennedy fourth.

In the youth race, Will Gascoyne (Matlock CC) secured victory by just six seconds from Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC), while under-14 rider Harry Lewis (Sherwood Pines CC) was third, another 51 seconds off the pace.

Grace Garner (RST Racing Team) was best of the girls in eighth place overall, almost four minutes ahead of her nearest female rival.

In the Under-12s race Josh Scales (Derby Mercury RC) took the win by 14 seconds from Witham Wheelers rival Kerrigan Robb, while Nottingham Clarion’s Poppy Wildman was first girl and third overall, just 18 seconds behind Scales.

Finally, Sam Gould (Matlock CC) was fastest in the Under-9s race.


1 Jim Bryan (Zepnat RT) 45:54
2 Lee Shunburne (Fossa Racing) @ 19sec
3 Andy Naylor (Fossa Racing) @ 51sec
4 Andrew Stuart (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:30
5 Chris Metcalfe (Charge Bikes) @ 1:39
6 Rob Parkin (Buzz Cycles) @ same time
7 Oliver Watson (Derwent Valley ATC) @ 1:54
8 Ben Eedy (Empella @ 2:06
9 Paul Cox (Pedal Power Loughborough) @ 2:35
10 Lewis Tarnai-Wilson (Ashfield RC) @ 3:19
Veterans: Jim Bryan. Under-23s: Oliver Watson.

1 Diane Lee (Zepnat RT) 57:55
2 Marianne Heffron (Matlock CC) @ 1 lap
3 Christine Howard (Matlock CC)
Women Veterans: Christine Howard.

1 William Gascoyne (Matlock CC) 26:16
2 Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC) @ 6sec
3 Harry Lewis (Sherwood Pines) @ 57sec
4 Kieran Howarth (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:04
5 Owyn Walker (Sherwood Pines) @ 1:21
6 James Armstrong (VC Lincoln) @ 2:01

Under-14s: Harry Lewis. Girls: Grace Garner (RST Racing Team). Under-14 girls: Joni Wildman (Nottingham Clarion).

1 Josh Scales (Derby Mercury RC) 14:11
2 Kerrigan Robb (Witham Wheelers) @ 14sec
3 Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) @ 18sec
Girls: Poppy Wildman.

1 Sam Gould (Matlock CC) 7:59
2 Fred Shenton (Beeston) @ 17sec
3 Dylan Richardson (Bolsover) @ 33sec
Girls: Harriet Limb (Matlock CC).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.