Cross: Sharp wins in Richmond

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Richmond, North Yorkshire
Event: 4 November 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

James Sharp (Team Hope) was first to cross the line in round seven of the CXNE Rat Race Series, having taken advantage of an accident suffered by Stuart Wearmouth (MTS).

Wearmouth was the early leader of the race, having broken away with Sharp and Stephen Ward (MTS).

But then disaster struck for the MTS rider when he collided with a backmarker and fell off his bike, leaving Sharp to breeze past him and into the lead.

After climbing back onto his bike, Wearmouth managed to get back on track and raced his way back into second place.

What ensued was a game of cat and mouse, with Wearmouth snapping at the heels of Sharp. Wearmouth was making up time on the technical sections of the course, only for Sharp to pull out a lead again on the faster parts. Wearmouth never could quite catch Sharp and so had to settle with second.

In the veteran race, it was the usual three suspects at the front as Richard Noble (Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Service CC), James Anderson (Blackhawk cycles) and Keith Ashbridge (Cumbria VC) powered away from the rest of the field.

Ashbridge wasn;t up to his usual standard, suffering from a cold and having raced yesterday, but he still chased quite hard. Whilst the veteran race was on, it was very foggy and cold so they had to keep their wits about them on the technical course.


1 James Sharp (Team Hope) 1:03:05
2 Stuart Wearmouth (MTS) 1:03:26
3 Steven Ward (MTS) 1:04:31
4 Keith Murray (Team Scott) 1:05:18
5 Colin Ash (Blackhawk Cycles) 1:05:58
6 Matthew Kipling (Velo 29) 1:06:55
7 Kenny Haswell (Cestria Cycles) 1:06:56
8 Morgan Donnelly (Beacon Wheelers) 1:08:06
9 Johnny Fletcher (MTS) 1:09:27
10 Andrew Johnson (Yorkshire Velo) 1:09:56
1 Richard Noble (Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Service CC)
2 James Anderson (Blackhawk Cycles)
3 Keith Ashbridge (Cumbria VC)
4 James Melville (Glasgow United CC)
5 Rob Smith (Derwentside CC)
6 Cliff Featherstone (MTS)
7 Ian Jefferson (Infinity Cycles)
8 Rob Powell (Malton Wheelers)
9 Andy Moss (Adept RT)
10 Alan King (MTS)
1 Elliott Davidson (Hetton Hawks)
2 Stephen Lee (Derwentside CC)
3 Jake Cowen (Biketreks RT)
4 James Morgan (Hetton Hawks)
5 Ben Hanson (Seacroft Wheelers)
1 Nicola Davies (Beacon Wheelers)
2 Bev Blakeman (Infinity Cycles)
3 Lucy Donnelly (Beacon Wheelers)
Under 16:
1 Miles Worner (Teesdale CRC)
2 Frazer Clacherty (TES Richardson)
3 Joe Mann (Derwentside CC)
Under 14:
1 Nick Hamilton (Hetton Hawks)
2 Toby Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers)
3 Connie Harton (Beacon Wheelers)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.