Cross: Hurlock wins inaugural South West Champs

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: South Dartmoor College, Ashburton, Devon
Event: 4 November 2012
Report: Alan Drury
Photos: Carl Austen

Today marked the inaugural South West Cyclo Cross Championships at South Dartmoor College, Ashburton, Devon, and it was Certini riders Dexter Hurlock and Maddie Horton who tasted victory.

In addition to the season long South West Cyclo Cross League, this new event will be held at a different venue each year to crown the male and female champion for that season with the course, conditions and luck of the draw adding a highlight in the middle of the season.

So 2012 brought the championship to Ashburton. This course always offers tough conditions and the heavy overnight rain and showers through the day lead to sticky mud and testing terrain.

In the hour-long main race of the day there were a number of broken rear mechs and one broken frame. Many riders could be seen clearing built up mud from their bikes as it gradually brought their progress to a halt.

Building on the success of the leagues' early events this season today's race was no exception attracting over 170 competitors from Go Race to veterans.

In the day's main race Dextor Hurlock (Certini/McCaulays) continued his winning streak and extended his league lead, taking first place from Matt Zietz (Pearson Cycles) and James Bovey (Mid Devon CC / Colin Lewis Cycles).

The runaway senior female winner was Maddie Horton (Certini/McCaulays) also taking 15th place overall and staking a claim on the league title with current leader Fiona Verney in second.

Tim Carpenter (Elite Velo) continued his winning ways in the veteran category taking first from Pete Dawe (South Fork Racing) in second and Jay Horton (Certini/McCaulays) in third.


1 Dexter Hurlock (Certini)
2 Matt Zeitz (Pearson Cycles)
3 James Bovey (Mid Devon CC)
4 Tim Carpenter (Elite Velo)
5 Pete Duwz (South Fork Racing)
6 Matt Noble (Unattached)
7 Stuart Pickering (One and All)
8 Matt Richarbow (Certini)
9 Gary Andrews (Certini)
10 Vin Cox (

1 James Davey Mid Devon CC/Colin Lewis Cycles
2 Finlay Clay Fully Sussed

U16 Youth:
1 Harry Sowden Clayton Cars
2 Jack Hewlett Taw Velo
3 Will Kelly Mid Devon CC/Colin Lewis Cycles

U14 Youth:
1 Jack Dowden Clayton Cars
2 Harry Birchill Mid Devon CC/Colin Lewis Cycles
3 Michael Hasting

Youth Girls:
1 Ruby Bond 1st Chard Wheelers
2 Evie Lane Mid Devon CC/Colin Lewis Cycles
3 Morwenna Hastings 1st Chard Wheelers

1 Max Hinds
2 Ned Collyer
3 Ross Pratt Mid Devon CC/Colin Lewis Cycles

U12 Girls:
1 Agnes Hammil
2 Ruby Faun Mid Devon CC/Colin Lewis Cycles
3 Abbie Twiddy

1 Freddy Birchill Mid Devon CC/Colin Lewis Cycles
2 Finlay Morris Mid Devon CC/Colin Lewis Cycles
3 Jonny Pickering One And All

U10 Girls:
1 Esme Kilburn Thompson St Peters
2 Ellie Smart Mid Devon CC/Colin Lewis Cycles

1 Solomon Drury Mid Devon CC/Colin Lewis Cycles
2 Findlay MacDonald
3 Finlay Hawkins

U8 Girls: Imogen Jones Somerset RC.

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.