Cross: Lisbygd wins latest Central League event

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Magdalen College, Brackley
Event: 27 October 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

After his win in the Eastern League earlier this month, Dennis Lisbygd secured a win in the fifth round of the Central League at Magdalen College, Brackley, on Saturday.

The 30-year-old from Denmark, who has lived in St Albans for the last two years, crossed the line around 20 seconds ahead of his nearest rival to notch up his second cross victory – this time in the colours of Icknield Road Club after riding for his company, Race Timing Solutions, in his Eastern League win on October 6.

“The race went well. The Central League was the first league I joined last year, and my club is from this area, so I was glad to ride,” said Lisbygd.

“There were a lot of young kids from our club there and they were keen to see me race, so it was nice to be cheered around the course.

“I had an OK start and was trying to follow the leaders, and I felt really good. On lap two I gave it a push, and made a little gap which I managed to hold for the whole way through the race.

“I just put my head down until the last lap where I relaxed a little bit and enjoyed the final lap. But there were three guys behind me who were chasing hard, so I kept it going.”

Liam Stones (Team Corley Cycles) took second spot, the 23-year-old Northampton rider holding off Paul Lloyd (Ride on Air) for second spot.

Best of the veterans was Sean Williams, the 42-year-old Wightlink-Offshore rider from Coews on the Isle of Wight, while Cameron Woolsey (CC Ashwell) was top junior and Alice Barnes (Motorpoint Pro Cycling) was fastest woman.



1 Dennis Lisbygd Icknield RC S

2 Liam Stones Team Corley Cycles S

3 Paul Lloyd Rides On Air S

4 Nick Jones Team Corley Cycles S

5 Sean Williams WightLink / Offshore V

6 Andy Waterman Viscious Velo S

7 Gavin Rumbles CC Luton V

8 Neil Ellison WDMC Beyond MountainBikes S

9 Steve Golla High Wycombe S

10 Philip Hersey Eagle RC S

11 Roy Chamberlain Team Corley Cycles V

12 Mike Wragg Team Milton Keynes S

13 James Waddington Dulwich Paragon S

14 Cameron Woolsey CC Ashwell J

15 David Wadsworth Beeline Bicycles V

16 Jamie Hawthorn Team Corley Cycles V

17 Toby Rose RAF CC S

18 Rob Nelson Team LBRCC-Solgaz S

19 Duncan Schwier TwickenHam CC V

20 Alice Barnes Motorpoint Cycling W

21 Philip Peacock St.Ives CC V

22 Sam Williamson Hemel Hempstead V

23 Chris Smith Team Milton Keynes V

24 Henry Sleight RWD Factory Racing S

25 Jason Painton Rides On Air S

26 Richard O'Reilly Hemel Hempstead S

27 Chris Clayton Dyson Cycles S

28 Jason Pitt AW J

29 Dil Weatherill Team Trisports V

30 Michael Clark Team Trisports V

31 Issac Anstee Beds Road CC J

32 Maxine Filby RND Factory Racing W

33 Joel Farrow Team Trisports S

34 Mark Anstee Beds Road CC V

35 Andy Halliday WDMC Beyond MountainBikes V

36 Stephen Bradbury AW S

37 Brian Primett Team Milton Keynes V

38 Geoff Cooper Beds Road CC V

39 Martin Heaton Team Milton Keynes V

40 Stephen Morrell Aylesbury CC V

41 Jessie Roberts RND Factory Racing W

42 Simon Tottle Festival RC V

43 Sarah Woods WightLink / Offshore W

44 Jason Keenor Team Milton Keynes S

45 David Middlewright Hillingdon Triathletes V

46 Stuart Tillbrook Team LBRCC-Solgaz V

47 Simon Hudson Didcot Phoenix V

48 Paul Drewery GC Ferrari V

49 Christine White Team Milton Keynes W

50 Tony Ward Team Trisports S

51 Stephen Dicks Team Milton Keynes V

52 Tony Shortland Team Trisports V

53 Carl Keen Team LBRCC-Solgaz V

54 Joshua Mitchell Biscester Millenium CC J

55 William Jenkins Spirit Racing Team S

56 Paula Adams Team Trisports W

57 Keith Perry Team Trisports V

58 Graham Macnamee Twickenham CC V

59 Martin Brindley Team Milton Keynes V

60 Claire Galloway For Viored RT W

61 Stephen Cambell Twickenham CC V

62 David Belcher Sotonia CC S

63 James Berry 45 Road Club J

64 Darren Greene Team Trisports V

65 Craig Nelson Team LBRCC-Solgaz S

66 Michael Berry 45 Road Club V

67 Stephen James Beds Road CC V

68 William Shirley Team Milton Keynes V

69 Mark Peacock Team Milton Keynes V

70 Martin Williams A5 Rangers V

71 Nigel Burdett Corley Cycles S

72 Roddy Grant A5 Rangers V

73 Martin Cooper Amersham Road CC S

74 Keith Jones Team Milton Keynes V

75 David Olney Beds Road CC V

76 Matthew Rowley Oxonian CC V

77 Oliver Cocks Icknield RC J

78 Unidentified Unidentified

79 Tom Newman Westerley RC V

80 Penny Schwier Twickenham CC W

81 Lauren Randall Icknield RC W

82 Nat Asaro Team MK W

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.