Cross: Pugh rockets home at Carmarthen

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Carmarthen Park, Carmarthen
Event: 20 October 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

With the backdrop of an adjacent firework display, the start of the main race of the Merlin's Knight Floodlit Cross at Carmarthen Park was an impressive sight as a field of 80 riders circled the concrete velodrome.

The racing was fast and furious at the front as junior Adam King (Cardiff JIF) and Jonathan Pugh (CycleTec) matched pedal strokes and smoothly inched away from CC Abergavenny's Joe Lally.

Entering the velodrome for the end of the fourth lap, Pugh was alone and King was on foot having rolled a tyre and been overtaken by Lally and leading veteran Mark James (Team Jewson/MI Racing).

A lap later 16-year-old King had caught James and had Lally in his sights, but he was unable to get back to 30-year-old Pugh, from Llandidrod Wells, who eventually took his second victory of the series by 21 seconds.

King pulled 24 seconds clear of Lally to take a hard-earned second place, while James survived a late attack by Ian Jeremiah (Cardiff JIF) to finish top veteran and Ruby Miller (Torq Performance) was a comfortable winner of the women's race.


1 Jonathan Pugh (CycleTec) 50-07
2 Adam King (Cardiff JIF) at 21 sec
3 Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny) at 45 sec
4 Mark James (Team Jewson/MI Racing)
5 Matthew Thompson (Cardiff JIF)
6 Ian Jeremiah (Cardiff JIF)
7 Lewys Hobbs (unattached)
8 Grant Leavy (Cycle Coaching Wales RT)
9 Andrew Parry (Urban Cyclery)
10 Mark Davies (Cycle Coaching Wales RT)

Veteran: Mark James
Junior: Adam King
Woman: Ruby Miller (Torq Performance)

1 Nicholas Jones (TRCC)
2 Harry Sowden (Clayton Cars)
3 Hefin Evans (Towy Riders)
4 Jack Sowden (Clayton Cars)
5 Harry Lock (Cardiff Ajax)

Under-16 Girl: Ffion James (Abergavenny RC)
Under-14 Boy: Tomos Nesham (Newport Velo)
Under-14 Girl: Elizabeth Bennett (Cardiff JIF)
Under-12 Boy: Owain Roberts (Towy Riders)
Under-12 Girl: Emma Finucane (Towy Riders)
Under-10 Boy: Iolo Dafydd (Towy Riders)
Under-10 Girl: Rosie Finucane (Towy Riders)
Under-8 Boy: Daniel Wylie-Morris (Abergavenny RC)
Under-8 Girl: Awen Roberts (Towy Riders)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.