Cross: Fletcher wins again in SRAM Notts and Derby League

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Bingham Leisure Centre, Nottingham
Event: 20 October 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports
Photos: Ray Stuart

GB mountain bike international David Fletcher (Orange Monkey-Cannondale) continued his preparations for this weekend’s European Championships and National Trophy Series race in Ipswich when he secured a fourth victory in the SRAM Notts and Derby League at Bingham Leisure Centre in Nottingham on Saturday.

The 23-year-old from Edwinstowe notched up a third consecutive victory to add to his win in the opening round of the series at Hardwick Hall, although he was only ten seconds ahead of his nearest rival after an entertaining race.

After his second place behind Fletcher in round five, Fossa Racing’s Andrew Naylor had to settle for second once again – although it was an improvement on the sixth place he secured in round six. And the podium was completed by Zepnat RT’s veteran Jim Bryan, another 20 seconds behind.

Second spot in round six went to Derwent Valley ATC’s under-23 rider Oliver Watson, but he finished down in ninth at Bingham, while the U23 crown went to Loughborough Students CC rider Dave Nichols.

And in the women’s race Zepnat RT’s Diane Lee continued her domination with a seventh consecutive victory at Bingham, while Matlock CC’s Maz Heffron took second and Keira McVitty (Buzz Cycles) was third.

Derby Mercury youngster Tom Weeds won the youth race by 22 seconds from Matlock rival Will Gascoyne, while Hope Factory Racing’s Arthur Green was third, 49sec back.


1 David Fletcher (Orange Monkey-Cannondale) 51:36
2 Andrew Naylor (Fossa Racing) @ 10sec
3 Jim Bryan (Zepnat RT) @ 30sec
4 Andrew Stuart (Nottingham Clarion) @ 35sec
5 Dave Nicholls (Loughborough Students CC) @ 53sec
6 Gareth Whittall (Clay Cross RT) @ 1:01
7 Lee Shunburne (Fossa Racing) @ same time
8 George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers) @ 1:08
9 Oliver Watson (Derwent Valley ATC) @ 1:17
10 James Furniss (Zepnat RT) @ 1:20
Veterans: Jim Bryan. Under-23: Dave Nicholls. Juniors: Oliver Maxwell (VC Rutland).

1 Diane Lee (Zepnat RT)
2 Maz Heffron (Matlock CC)
3 Keira McVitty (Buzz Cycles)
4 Tracey Fletcher (VC Long Eaton)
5 Sarah Kennedy (Matlock CC)
6 Helen Gutteridge (Zepnat RT)

1 Tom Weeds (Derby Mercury RC) 24:58
2 Will Gascoyne (Matlock CC) @ 22sec
3 Arthur Green (Hope Factory Racing) @ 49sec
4 Josh Waters (Mercia CC) @ 59sec
5 Ollie Peckover (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:09
6 Callum McBrearty (Nottingham Clarion) @ 1:26
Under-14s: Calum Fearnie (Nottingham Clarion). Girls: Sarah Lomas (Matlock CC). Under-14 Girls: Isabelle Boon (Belper BC).

1 Joshua Scales (Derby Mercury RC) 16:35
2 Jake Norton (Spalding CC) @ 2sec
3 Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) @ 10sec
Under-12 girls: Poppy Wildman.

1 Sam Gould (Matlock CC) 6:51
2 Ben Norton (Spalding CC) @ 34sec
3 Louis Swindell (Matlock CC) @ 42sec
Under-9 Girls: Harriet Limb (Matlock CC).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.