Cross: Partridge wins in Yorkshire

Home » Cyclo-cross

Endura Racing ace Rob Partridge secured victory in the Newsome Cross in Yorkshire on Sunday, crossing the line around 30 seconds ahead of his nearest rival at the end of the event at Newsome High School.

The 27-year-old Leeds-based rider hit the front towards the end of the first lap with Tom Randall (Rock Racing) in tow, and eventually eked out a narrow lead over his rival which he gradually extended.

First to hit the front as the race powered uphill towards the main circuit on lap one was Seth Smith, the Paul Milnes RT veteran, but he faded once they reached the main circuit and suffered a bad fall which left him bloodied and well out of the top 20. However, he battled back to a deserved sixth place.

Yorkshire Velo’s Andy Johnson took third spot, but he was more than two minutes behind the leading two, and held off Holme Valley Wheelers’ John Hick for the final podium place.

Another Holme Valley Wheeler, Rachel Mellor was fastest of the women, ahead of Norton Wheelers’ Andrea Rogers. Bobbin Gareher (Harrogate Nova) was first in the youth race, just ahead of Under-14’s Henry Hardcastle (Kirklees Cycling Academy).

The event doubled up as the Yorkshire Under-12 Championships, and Pedalsport CC’s Jenson Young won the U12s ahead of team-mate Max Rushby. Ava Oxley (Wakefield Junior Tri Club) was first girl.

In the Under-10 category Cameron Brandford (Wakefield Junior Tri Club) was fastest boy and Ruby Yates (Holme Valley Wheelers) was best girl.

Sammy Mills (unattached) was best in the under-8s and Astrid Hiley (Pedalsport CC) was fastest girl.


1 Rob Partridge (Endura Racing) 49:32
2 Tom Randall (Rock Racing) @ 30sec
3 Andy Johnson (Yorkshire Velo) @ 2:05
4 John Hick (Holme Valley Wheelers)
5 Matthew Downs (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic)
6 Seth Smith (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic)
7 Jiri Klekner (Wheelspin Cycles)
8 Phil Hinchcliffe (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic)
9 Richard Allen (Here come the Belgians)
10 Rick Crabtree (Pedalsport CC)

1 Rachel Mellor (Holme Valley Wheelers)
2 Andrea Rogers (Norton Wheelers)
3 Nicky Hartill (Dirtwheels Cycles)

1 Bobbin Gareher (Harrogate Nova) 31:33
2 Henry Hardcastle (Kirklees Cycling Academy) @ same time
3 Nathan Hollyman (Kirklees Cycling Academy) @ 1sec
4 Jacob Feetham (Wakefield Junior Tri Club)
5 Tom Humphrey (Eastlands Velo)
Girls: Lucy Horrocks (Hope Factory Racing)

Under-12s (Yorks U12 Champs):
1 Jenson Young (Pedalsport CC)
2 Max Rushby (Pedalsport CC)
3 Fin Cooper-Oldfield (Kirklees Cycling Academy)

1 Ava Oxley (Wakefield Junior Tri Club)
2 Juliet Brandford (Wakefield Junior Tri Club)
3 Lucy Whearty (Pedalsport CC)

Under-10s (Yorks U10 Champs):
1 Cameron Brandford (Wakefield Junior Tri Club)
2 Marcus Hiley (Pedalsport CC)
3 Jamie Asquith (East Bradford CC)

1 Ruby Yates (Holme Valley Wheelers)
2 Kayleigh Wells (Yorkshire Velo)
3 Ellie Armstrong (Wakefield Junior Tri Club)

Under-8s (Yorks U8 Champs):
1 Sammy Mills (unattached)
2 William Huddlestone (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
3 Matthew Warriner (Pedalsport CC)

1 Astrid Hiley (Pedalsport CC)
2 Elizabeth Fletcher (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
3 Amber Ford (unattached)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.