Wardell wins Scottish Cyclo-Cross League opener at Callander Park

Wardell wins Scottish Cyclo-Cross League opener at Callander Park

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Callander Park, Falkirk
Event: 7 October 2012

Robert Wardell (Alpine Bikes Racing) took an impressive first win of the Scottish Cylo-Cross Series after a well fought battle from David Lines (PedalPower/Endura/Forme Racing) and Rob Friel (XCracer.com). 

The trio made an early break in the first few laps on the fast dry circuit round Callander Park and by the mid-way point, Wardell and Lines had gapped Friel.  The advantage grew to around 45 seconds as Wardell and Lines worked well together to increase the gap. The decisive move came from Wardell in the closing laps, gapping Lines and maintaining the lead to the end.

The vets/womens/junior race produced a huge field of over 130 riders and the vets race was well contested and dominated by Team Leslie Bike Shop/Rightmove Windows. 

The trio of Gary McCrae, Franco Porco and John McCaffery worked well together for most of the race until McCrae made the decisive move with a few laps to go, splitting the trio, leaving Porco and McCaffery to fight it out for the remainder of the podium.  Porco held off McCaffery for second.

In the women’s event, Ruth Fraser-Moodie (PedalPower Rt) led from start to finish with the rest of the podium going to Maddie Ribinson and Brenda Callender.



Senior men

1. Robert Wardell (Alpine Bikes Racing)

2. David Lines (PedalPower/Endura/Forme Racing)

3. Rob Friel (XCracer.com)

4. Colin May (VeloClub Edinburgh)

5. Paul McNally (Rock & Road Cycles)


1. Gary McCrae (Leslie Bike Shop/Right Move Windows)

2. Franco Porco (Leslie Bike Shop/Right Move Windows)

3. John McCaffery (Leslie Bike Shop/Right Move Windows)

4. Gordon Dickson (Rockhard MBC)

5. James Melville (Glasgow United CC)


1. Ruth Fraser-Moodie (PedalPower RT)

2. Maddie Robinson (Velo Club Moulin)

3. Brenda Callender (Stirling Bike Club)


1. Iain Paton (Ben Wyvis Bike Club)

2. Calum Foster (Leslie Bike Shop/Right Move Windows)

3. Sean Gordon (Glasgow Couriers)