Cross: Whittington powers to Purdown win

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Stapleton, Bristol
Event: 30 September 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Breaking away from a leading group of four riders, John Whittington (CNP-Orbea) steadily increased his lead over the second half of the 11-lap race to win the second round of the Western League at Purdown.

The 24-year-old Bristol rider finished 47 seconds clear of Charles Coleman (Cadence Cannondale) with third-placed Llewellyn Holmes (Strada Cycles) and Matthew Thompson (Cardiff JIF) the only other riders to finish on the same lap on relatively firm going.

Dream Cycling team-mates Tony Davis and Steve Brown were first and second veterans in ninth and tenth places respectively.


1 John Whittington (CNP-Orbea) 53-57
2 Charles Coleman (Cadence Cannondale) at 47 sec
3 Llewellyn Holmes (Strada Cycles) at 1-25
4 Matthew Thompson (Cardiff JIF) at 3-13
5 Daniel Bell (VC Lincoln) at 1 lap
6 Ian Threadgood (Cheltenham & County CC)
7 Alec Rumball (Bath CC)
8 Ben Hall (Bristol RC)
9 Tony Davis (Dream Cycling)
10 Steve Brown (Dream Cycling)
Veterans: Tony Davis
Women: Helen Cox (unattached)

1 Oliver Hayward (Gloucester City CC)
2 Joe Whatmore (SVE Cycling)
3 Jacob Stinchcomb (Tandem Club)

1 Ned Collier (Dream Cycling)
2 Ellie Hobbs (Yate Tri Strars)
3 Leo Tarrant (Cheltenham & County CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.