Cross: Gray improves to take Wessex win

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Lydiard Park, Swindon
Event: 23 September 2012
Report and Photos: Graham Robins

Luke Gray (Trek Cross Collective) went one better than last week and won round two at the very wet and slippery cross race held in Swindon.

Luke was in a group that got away and the start and these five stayed away for much of the race before the conditions decided the outcome.

One the first lap it was Jody Crawforth and teammate Andy Hargroves (Hargroves Cycles) along with Michael Cotty (Wheelbase Cannondale), Ben Sumner (Beeline Cycles), Crispin Doyle (Hargroves Cycles) and Will Bjergfelt (Cycle Premier Kovert) that started to ease away.

Andy Hargroves soon had the race under control and he eased away from Jody who was coming under pressure from Luke. These three riders were building up a good lead and making the most of being able to pick a clear line in the very slippery mud and first to the banks which were now after all the days rain were becoming un- ride able.

With over half the race gone Luke made his move and caught and passed Jody, before catching Andy. The two riders pulled away and soon were clear before Andy allowed Luke past but then fell foul of the conditions and his front wheel slipped from underneath him and Luke took the opportunity to get away. Jody also slipped at the same point and now Luke was well clear.

Behind these, riders were having difficulties and there were several riders breaking rear mechs’ and a large number had parted with the bikes and were covered in mud.

Earlier in the day Matt Hargroves won the combined Vet/Jun/Women’s race. He led into the wooded section and was never challenged throughout the race. Lewis King (Beeline Cycles) was the first Vet and Tamina Oliver (Hargroves Cycles) was the first women.

Daniel Tulett (Hargroves Cycles) convincingly won the youth race, and Brother Ben won the under 12’s race. Emily Wadsworth was first Girl.

Provisional Results:

1st Luke Gary Trek Cross Collective
2nd Andy Hargroves Hargroves Cycles
3rd Jody Crawforth Hargroves Cycles
4th Michael Cotty Wheelbase Cannondale
5th Ben Sumner Beeline Cycles
6th Will Bjergfelt Cycle Premier Kovert

1st Matt Hargroves Hargroves Cycles and first Junior
2nd Lewis King Beeline Cycles and first Vet
3rd Joe Griffiths Dream CC Junior
4th Sean Williams Wightlink Offshore
5th Kevin Knox Vicious Velo

1st Daniel Tulett Hargroves Cycles
2nd David Barnes
3rd Christopher Rothwell Swindon RC

1st Ben Tulett Hargroves Cycles
2nd Andrew Wheatley
3rd Conor Hutchinson Swindon RC

Under-12 Girls: Alderney Baker (Southdown Velo).

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.