Cross: Fawcett wins again in North East

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Preston Park, Stockton on Tees
Event: 16 September 2012
Report and Photos: Alan Nixon

Tony Fawcett made it back to back victories in the 2nd round of the CXNE Rat race league at Preston park, sponsored by Blackhawk Bikes.

Fawcett took to the front from the off and quickly built up a commanding lead over the chase group offour4 behind. Fawcett never really looked challenged but there was no lack of effort from the defending CXNE champion who had a lead of over 1 minute by the end.

Meanwhile back in the chase group, Adam Martin, Colin Ash, Kenny Haswell and Steven Ward were left to battle it out for the remaining podium spots. With Martin ‘hung over’ the bars dropping off the pace it looked like his day was numbered. However finding his second wind his recent good form returned and he drove on picking off the group to take second ahead of Cestria Cycles team mate Haswell. Steven Ward followed his second from last weekend with fourth, ahead of Morgan Donnelly who made a late charge to pass Matt Kipling on the line for fifth.

The promoting club Blackhawk Bikes had a good turn out with Colin Ash leading them home despite slipping back from the leaders after a promising start. Meanwhile further back Mick Harcast sheepishly beat newbie Jamie Pattison, whilst Dave Charman was chomping at the bit to beat fellow team mates, however the hoofs came off with his race packed with mechanicals.

The Junior/Vets/Women race was won by Luke Parkin of Hetton Hawks in dominant fashion leading from the off and powering away from first veteran, Yorkshireman Matt Denby of Jewsons RT, looked strong all race and came home comfortably in second place. James Edmond finished fast pulling away from fellow Junior Stephen Lee to claim third.

James Anderson and Richard Noble had a good battle for the remaining vets podium places with Anderson victorious in the sprint to the line. Nicola Davies was first women beating Beacon Wheeler team mate Lucy Donnelly in second and Karen Howard third women.


1 Tony Fawcett Scott Bikes UK
2 Adam Martin Cestria Cycles
3 Kenny Haswell Cestria Cycles
4 Steven Ward MTS
5 Morgan Donnelly Beacon Wheelers
6 Matthew Kipling Velo29
7 Colin Ash Blackhawk Bikes
8 Malcolm Lewis MTS
9 Johnny Fletcher M Steel Cycles
10 Darren Binks Blackhawk Bikes

1 Matt Denby Jewsons RT
2 James Anderson Blackhawk Bikes
3 Richard Noble Tyne and Wear Fire and Rescue Service

1 Luke Parkin Hetton Hawks
2 James Edmond Ferryhill Wheelers
3 Stephen Lee Derwentside CC

1 Nicola Davies Beacon Wheelers
2 Lucy Donnelly Beacon Wheelers
3 Karen Howard Kent Cycles

1 Matthew Worton Hetton Hawks U16
2 Thomas Mein MTS U14
3 Rory Mellis U16

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.