Cyclo-cross: Barclay eases to victory in London League

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Sholen, Deal
Event: 16 September 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Darren Barclay began his London League campaign with a fantastic ride in Sholen on Sunday.

The Arctic Premier RT member was part of a seven-man break but soon left the others in his wake as he got his head down and flew around the track.

The course was fast and open with as many features as the organiser could pack in. There were a few punctures along the way but Barclay didn’t have any problems as he sped over the finish line, a minute before anyone else.

Peter Mollison (Kingston Wheelers) in second was comfortable in the end with a gap of 20 seconds between him and third-placed Jules Birks (VC Londres).


1 Darren Barclay (Arctic Premier RT) 1:01:00
2 Peter Mollison (Kingston Wheelers) @ 1:00
3 Jules Birks (VC Londres) @ 1:20
4 Jack Finch (PM Racing)
5 Phil Lenney (Team GWB)
6 Philip Glowinski (VC Londres)
7 Alex Paton (Team GWB)
8 John Lyons (GS Invicta)
9 Gabor Doroghazi (Fruit 4 London)
10 Matt Webber (London Phoenix)
1 John Lyons
2 Nick Welsh (GS Invicta)
3 Phil Jones (Dulwich paragon)
4 Russell Jones (Hackney GT)
5 Stuart Taylor (London Phoenix)
6 Julian Wall (Cyclefit RT)
1 Sophia Joy (PM Racing)
2 Tabitha Rendall (Club Cyclo Park)
1 Harry Franklin (Hargroves Cycles)
2 Liam Earl (De Vere CC)
3 Chris McGovern (Sutton CC)
1 Dan Tulett (Hargroves Cycles)
2 Tom Franklin (Hargroves Cycles)
3 Calum Anderton (White Bikes)
Under 12:
1 Ben Tulett (Hargroves Cycles)
2 Noah Charlton (VC Deal)
3 Tom Martin (Team Darenth)
Under 10:
1 Joseph Blackmore (Hearn Hill Youth CC)
2 Flynn Robinson (Thanet RC)
3 Charlotte Mcgreevy (Team Darenth)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.