Cross: Harding leads a junior one-two

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Home Farm, Tong Village, Bradford
Event: 16 September 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

National youth mountain bike champion Billy Harding (Paul Milnes/Bradford Olympic RC) led a one-two for junior riders at the third round of the Yorkshire Points series in Bradford.

Harding finished 45 seconds clear of Jake Womersley (Sportscover Altura RT) in a race dominated by the two talented 16-year-olds in bright and warm conditions on an arduous Tong Village course.

The pair were locked together for the first two laps before Harding, from Bradford, began to move clear with Jamie Sharp (Hope Factory Racing) closing to within half a minute of Womersley by the finish after an isolated ride in third place.

Joshua Keep (Zipvit) claimed fourth place ahead of an intense battle for fifth between Simon Maudsley (Dirtwheels Cycles) and Neal Crampton (Crosstrax), who lost ground when he came to grief midway towards the closing stages but battled his way back to the wheel of his former team-mate only to miss out at the finish.

Ian Taylor (Craven Energy) was a clear minute in front of nearest challenger Andy Peace (FIS) in the veterans race, while youth winner Chris Barnes (Zepnat) and under-12 Jenson Young (Pedalsport) both made it three wins from three in the age-group races.


1 Billy Harding (Paul Milnes/Bradford Olympic RC)
2 Jake Womersley (Sportscover Altura RT)
3 Jamie Sharp (Hope Factory Racing)
4 Joshua Keep (Zipvit)
5 Simon Maudsley (Dirtwheels Cycles)
6 Neal Crampton (Crosstrax)
7 Ben Pygott (Paul Milnes/Bradford Olympic RC)
8 Tom Randall (Rock Racing)
9 Rob Watson (Dirtwheels Cycles)
10 Ben Cooper (Dirtwheels Cycles)

1 Ian Taylor (Craven Energy)
2 Andy Peace (FIS)
3 Chris Taylor (Pedalsport)
4 Chris Young (Pedalsport)
5 Mike Young (Pedalsport)
6 Seth Smith (Paul Milnes)
Woman: Victoria Wilkinson.

1 Chris Barnes (Zepnat)
2 Alfie Moses (Bronte Wheelers)
3 Jamie Ridehalgh (Airedale Cycles)
Girl: Hannah Saville (North Midlands Youth Squad). Under-14 girl: Lucy Horrocks (Hope Tech).

1 Jenson Young (Pedalsport)
Girl: Ava Oxley (Wakefield Junior Tri)

1 Luca Longo (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
Girl: Chloe Hinchcliffe (Wakefield Junior Tri)

1 Seb Cliffe (Ilkley CC)
Girl: Molly Kipping (East Bradford CC)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.