Cyclo-Cross: Booth blasts to Notts and Derby win

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Hilton Fields Farm, Hilton, Derbyshire
Event: 8 September 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports
Photo: Ray Stuart

Hope Factory Racing’s Dan Booth secured a solo victory in round two of the SRAM Notts and Derby Cyclo-Cross League, staged by Team Empella at Hilton Fields Farm in Derbyshire on Saturday.

The 32-year-old from Market Bosworth crossed the line a minute and a half ahead of his nearest rival, covering seven laps in 52-10 and showing good form following a summer of riding several cross country mountain bike events as well as finishing 12th in the Newport Nocturne last weekend.

Booth beat Matt Barrett (Run and Ride) into second place, and while Booth was riding the Notts and Derby League for the first time this season, for 36-year-old Barrett he was improving on the fourth place he secured in the opening round the previous weekend.

Leicester-based Barrett was 1-32 behind Booth, while the final spot on the podium went to Gareth Whittall (Clay Cross RT), the 30-year-old Nottingham rider who was just six seconds further off the pace.

Third in the opening round, Dieter Droger (Dirt Wheels) had to settle for fourth spot this time round, 1-55 behind Booth.

In the women’s race, victory went to Zepnat RT’s Diane Lee, who held off Hannah Payton (Kinesis), while Sarah Naylor (Fossa Racing) showed consistency when she finish third, just like in the first round last week.

There was a reversal of fortunes in the youth race, with young Hope Factory Racing prospect Arthur Green securing the win, moving up from fourth in last week’s opening race.

The Matlock Under-16 rider was 23 seconds ahead of his nearest rival Tom Weeds (DMRS), who was also second last week.

Meanwhile, Green’s former team-mate William Gascoyne (Matlock CC) had to settle for sixth this time after having won the opening race last week.

But there was a familiar winner in the Under-12 race, with Jenson Young (Pedalsport CC) winning again, this time by 20 seconds, while Joshua Scales (Derby Mercury RC) and Poppy Wildman (Notts Clarion) were again second and third respectively.


SRAM Notts and Derby League, round 2:

1 Dan Booth (Hope Factory Racing) 52:10
2 Matt Barrett (Run and Ride) @ 1:32
3 Gareth Whittall (Clay Cross RT) @ 1:38
4 Dieter Droger (Dirt Wheels) @ 1:55
5 Andrew Naylor (Fossa Racing) @ same time
6 Andrew Stuart (TFN Tri) @ 2:16
7 Nathan Miller (Buzz Cycles) @ 2:36
8 James Furniss (Zepnat RT) @ 2:50
9 Oliver Watson (Derwent Valley ATC) @ 3:39
10 Kyle Burleigh (Nottingham Clarion) @ 4:18
Under-23s: Oliver Watson. Juniors: Danny Fox (Solihull CC). Veterans: Mike Young (Pedalsport CC).

1 Diane Lee (Zepnat RT)
2 Hannah Payton (Kinesis)
3 Sarah Naylor (Fossa Racing)
4 Maz Heffron (Matlock CC)
5 Helen Gutteridge (Zepnat RT)
6 Sarah Kennedy (unattached)

1 Arthur Green (Hope Factory Racing) 23:06
2 Tom Weeds (DMRS) @ 23sec
3 Gregg Booker (Matlock CC) @ 1:15
4 Josh Waters (Mercia CC) @ 1:45
5 Ollie Peckover (Nottingham Clarion) @ 2:03
6 William Gascoyne (Matlock CC) @ 2:06
Under-14s: Harry Lewis (Sherwood Pines).

1 Jenson Young (Pedalsport CC) 15:17
2 Joshua Scales (Derby Mercury RC) @ 20sec
3 Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) @ same time
4 Huw Higgins-Worrall (Abergavenny RC) @ 28sec
5 Matthew Luscombe (Derby Mercury RC) @ 32sec
Girls: Poppy Wildman.

1 Sam Gould (Matlock CC) 6:21
2 Christopher Hilbert (VC Lincoln) @ 20sec
3 Fred Shenton (Beeston CC) @ 47sec
4 Louis Swindell (Matlock CC) @ 57sec
5 Dylan Richardson (Bolsover & Dist CC) @ 1:02
6 Henry Pawson (Nottingham Clarion) at 1:09

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.