2012 UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships Team Announced
Home » Cyclo-cross

2012 UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships Team Announced

Update, 26 January: Jody Crawforth has pulled out of the world championships due to ill health.
Update, 24 January: Gabriella Day has pulled out of the world championships due to a lung infection.

British Cycling has announced a team of 14 riders who will represent Great Britain at the forthcoming UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships in Koksijde, Belgium, taking place on 28 - 29 January 2012.

Helen Wyman, who won her seventh consecutive British Championship title, has made selection along with Ian Field, Steve James and Hugo Robinson, all of whom are 2012 British Champions in their respective age categories.

Team Manager Phil Dixon said: “I’m looking forward to seeing British Champions Helen Wyman and Ian Field lead this team forward to the World Championships. I think this year is the strongest the women’s team in particular has been, and I believe they are in a good position to challenge for the podium.

"For the younger riders, this is the second year of British Cycling’s Cyclo-Cross Development Plan and we’ve got four under-23 and three Junior men who will make the start line. I think these guys will put on a good show and I’m looking forward to seeing them push closer to a podium finish at these World Championships.”

Selected Riders

Elite Men: Ian Field, Jody Crawforth, Paul Oldham

Elite Women: Helen Wyman, Nikki Harris, Annie Last, Gabriella Day (withdrew due to illness)

Under-23 Men: Steve James, Kenta Gallagher, Luke Gray, Jack Clarkson

Junior Men: Hugo Robinson, Alex Welburn, Joe Moses