Cross: Ian Taylor takes Ilkley Go-Cross win

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Nell Bank Outdoor Centre, Ilkley
Event: 15 January 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports/Claire Crabtree

Ian Taylor (Craven Energy) had to use three bikes to ride to victory in the Go-Cross event organised by Ilkley Cycling Club at the Nell Bank Outdoor Centre in Ilkley on Sunday.

Also - Video - nice musical summary of the day

Taylor suffered a mechanical problem as soon as the race began and found himself last. A muddy section of the course was causing mayhem for the riders and chains were constantly breaking, making for a manic race.

After picking up a new bike, 39-year-old Taylor picked his way through the crowd, whilst at the front of the field there was no clear leader.

Neil Crampton (Crosstrax) eventually built up a lead of around 20 seconds before two of his chasers were forced to retire. But by lap 11, Taylor had chased down the lead and went on to win the race riding his wife’s bike.


In the veterans' race, Marcus Spencer (Hargroves Cycles) took an early lead and by the third lap, he was around five seconds ahead of John Hick (unattached) and Stefan Mancini (JD Cycles).

But then John Hick pushed hard and took the lead and went about extending his advantage lap by lap. Mancini held on to second place and was comfortable by the end. After dropping back slightly, Spencer finished in third.

In the youth race, Pedalsport’s Levi Moody continued his excellent run and the 16-year-old has now won every Go-Cross event that he has entered.

His win in Ilkley was a comfortable one that never looked in doubt - he lead from the start and built up un unassailable lead over his competitors. He completed the course in 26.17, just under two minutes ahead of his closest rival.

There was a battle for second place between East Bradford CC’s Jack Fillingham and Airdale Chemicals rider, Jamie Ridehalgh. Fillingham managed to get clear of Ridehalgh to finish in second with a sizeable gap between them.

In other categories, Karen Valentine (Craven Energy) was fastest woman, Hannah Saville (North Midlands Youth Squad) was top girl and Alex Ridehalgh (Airedale Chemicals) finished first in the under 12s.

Ava Oxley of Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club was the top under 10 rider. Luca Longo (Huddersfield Star Wheelers) was victorious in the under 8 boys section and Izzy Ritchie in the under 8 girls.


1 Ian Taylor (Craven Energy)
2 Neil Crampton (Crosstrax)
3 Ruairi Revell (Dirtwheels Cycles)
4 Guy Kesteven (Thursday Night Fight Club)
5 Bob Addey (unattached)
6 Jon Hobson (Hope Factory Racing)
7 Dave Johnson (Ilkley CC)
8 Ryan Stockton (Thursday Night Fight Club)

John Hick (unattached). Women: Karen Valentine (Craven Energy). Youth: Levi Moody (Pedalsport). Girls: Hannah Saville (North Midlands Youth Squad). Under 12: Alex Ridehalgh (Airedale Chemicals). Under 10: Ava Oxley (Wakefield Junior Triathlon Club). Under 8 boys: Luca Longo (Huddersfield Star Wheelers). Under 8 girls: Izzy Ritchie.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.