Cross: Jones takes Central League title

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Hillingdon Circuit, London
Event: 11 December 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Nick Jones secured the senior title in the Central League with a seventh podium finish in what has been a dominant season for the Team Corley Cycles rider.

The 24-year-old from Milton Keynes, who came first in five rounds this season, finished behind Matthew Webber (London Phoenix) and Denis Lisbygol (Race Timing Solutions) at Hillingdon to amass 770 points.

Paul Robertson ( finished fourth on the day - enough to secure second place in the overall standings, 90 points behind Jones.

The fastest in the women’s category was Leona Kadir (La Fuga-Sigma Sport), while Gavin Rumbles continued his impressive form, once again finishing as best veteran.

Zinzan Heap of Team Milton Keynes led from Jonti Heap (Team Milton Keynes) and Laura Cheesman (Preston Park Youth CC) to win the youth category. Will Macke (AW Cycles) took first in the Juniors.

Finishing behind high-flying Laura Cheesman in the Under 16 Girls was Elizabeth Ruffley (A5 Rangers) and Lauren Randall of Icknield RC. The impressive Jonti Heap took the top spot in the Under 14 Boys and Rhona Grant (A5 Rangers) provided an accomplished ride to top the Under 14 Girls.

Ben Tulett (Herne Hill Youth CC) held off Alexi Edwards (Welwyn Wheelers) and Herne Hill team mate Tom Martin to come top of the under 12s boys, and Kitty Pilgrim Morris (Palmer Park Velo) was top in the under 12s girl. In the under 10s, A5 Rangers’s Skip Snelson was quickest.


1 Matthew Webber (London Phoenix)
2 Denis Lisbygol (racingtimingsolution)
3 Nick Jones (Team Corley Cycles)
4 Paul Robertson (
5 Philip Glowinski (VC Londres)
6 Gavin Rumbles (CC Luton)
7 Phil Hersey (Eagle Road Club)
8 David Rees (Dulwich Paragon)
9 James Warren (Bill Nickson Cycles)
10 Pete Smith (Team Jewson)
Junior: Will Macke (AW Cycles). Veteran: Gavin Rumbles (CC Luton). Woman: Leona Kadir (La Fuga-Sigma Sport).

1 Zinzan Heap (Team Milton Keynes)
2 Jonti Heap (Team Milton Keynes)
3 Laura Cheesman (Preston Park Youth CC)
4 Charles Page (Hillingdon Slipstreamers)
5 Conall Brown (Hemel Hempstead CC)

Girl: Laura Cheesman (Preston Park Youth CC). U14 Boy: Jonti Heap (Team Milton Keynes). U14 Girl: Rhona Grant (A5 Rangers). U12 Boy: Ben Tulett (Herne Hill Youth CC). U12 Girl: Kitty Pilgrim Morris (Palmer Park Velo). U10 Boy: Skip Snelson (A5 Rangers CC). U10 Girl: Emily Corn (Palmer Park Velo).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.