Cross: Oldham wins CXNE R9

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Stainton, near Barnard Castle, County Durham
Event: 3 December 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Reigning North of England Champion Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) completed his preparations for the title defence the following day when he won the North East League event staged on the same course near Barnard Castle on Saturday.

Oldham crossed the line more than two and a half minutes ahead of his nearest rival on a muddy and rain-soaked course based on an old army camp at Stainton in County Durham.

With three wins in North East League events so far this season, Tony Fawcett (Black Hawk Bikes) had to be content with second spot behind Oldham, 2:42 off the pace, while Oldham’s team-mate at Hope Factory Racing, Keith Murray took third, 4:17 off the pace.

The three had been together in the early part of the race, but as Oldham put the hammer down they dropped off one by one.

Fawcett rode in no man’s land for much of the race, while Murray had to dig deep to hold off Liam Glen (Bath University CC) who closed to within 20 seconds of the Darlington rider, before Murray put a spurt on and finished a minute clear.

Columba Cycles’ Joe Brown was top junior, crossing the line just three seconds ahead of his rival for that category, Adam Haygarth (Cestria Cycles) in 36th, while Nicola Davies (unattached) was fastest of the women and was also best female over-50.


1 Paul Oldham (Hope Factory Racing) 46:17
2 Tony Fawcett (Black Hawk Bikes) @ 2:42
3 Keith Murray (Hope Factory Racing) @ 4:17
4 Liam Glen (Bath University CC) @ 5:17
5 Colin Ash (Black Hawk Bikes) @ 5:56
6 Kenny Haswell (Black Hawk Bikes) @ 5:59
7 Darren Binks (Black Hawk Bikes) @ 6:00
8 Alan Nixon (Black Hawk Bikes) @ 7:10
9 Malcolm Lewis (MTS Cyclesport) @ 7:24
10 Duncan Walmsley (Zepnat RT) @ same time
Over-40s: Duncan Walmsley. Over-50s: Ian Robson (MTS Cyclesport). Juniors: Joe Brown (Columba Cycles). Women: Nicola Davies (unattached). Veteran women: Nicola Davies.

1 James Edmond (Ferryhill Wheelers) 27:40
2 Thomas Mein (MTS Cyclesport) @ 12sec
3 Mark Donovan (Beacon Wheelers) @ 18sec
4 Jake Dobson (Newcastle Phoenix) @ 1:07
5 Joe Howard (Cleveland Wheelers) @ 2:26
6 Henrietta Colborne (Beacon Wheelers) @ 3:30
Girls: Henrietta Colborne. Under-14s: Thomas Mein.

Under 12s:
1 Mason Hollyman (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
2 Toby Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers)
3 Christain Worner (Teesdale CRC)
4 Matthew Egglestone (Beacon Wheelers)
5 Joe Thurlbeck (Teesdale CRC)
6 Sam Dobson (Hetton Hawks)
Under-10s: Matthew Egglestone. Under-8s: Lititia Hay (Hetton Hawks).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.