Cross: Fawcett wins CXNE Lge Round 7

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Durham University Cricket Club, Durham
Event: 13 November 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Black Hawk Bikes rider Tony Fawcett won the seventh round of the CXNE League in Durham on Sunday, securing his third victory in three races and underlining his potential challenge for the overall league honours this season.

CXNE Durham Nov 2011 Round 7_1

Fawcett, the 33-year-old from Stanley in County Durham, was almost a minute and a half faster than his nearest rival in a quality field for the event based at Durham University Cricket Club which attracted more than 100 riders – a record for the new-style league.

Darlington’s Keith Murray (Hope Factory Racing) had to settle for second spot by 1:25, while MTS Cyclesport’s Steven Ward was third, another 15 seconds off the pace.

The first lap saw Fawcett at the head of affairs together with a select group including Murray, Richard Kipling, Vince Potter and Steve Ward, but he pressed on alone leaving the rest to chase him on a fast, flowing course and his lead increased steadily round the 12 laps.

Fawcett’s team-mate and current league leader Kenny Haswell (Black Hawk Bikes) finished down in eighth spot, while best of the women was Bev Blakeman, the 37-year-old Gateshead woman who riders for Infinity Cycles getting the better of rival Pam Glover (Derwentside CC) by about ten seconds.

And in the youth race there was a one-two for Hetton Hawks with Stephen Lee winning comfortably by 1:14 from team-mate Matthew Worton, while Velo 29’s Charlie Tanfield was third, 1:52 off the pace.


1 Tony Fawcett (Black Hawk Bikes) 1:02:00
2 Keith Murray (Hope Factory Racing) @ 1:25
3 Steven Ward (MTS Cyclesport) @ 1:40
4 Malcolm Lewis (MTS Cyclesport) @ 2:04
5 Luke Parkin (Hetton Hawks) @ 2:41
6 Tony Glover (Derwentside CC) @ 2:54
7 Tom Stockhill (Malton Wheelers) @ 3:13
8 Kenny Haswell (Black Hawk Bikes) @ same time
9 Richard Kipling (MTS Cyclesport) @ 3:28
10 Matt Flynn (Wallis Cycles) @ 3:35
Juniors: Luke Parkin. Veterans: Keith Ashbridge (VC Cumbria). Over-50s: Barry Kipling (MTS Cyclesport). Women: Bev Blakeman (Infinity Cycles). Women veterans: Pam Glover (Derwentside CC).

1 Stephen Lee (Hetton Hawks) 37:05
2 Matthew Worton (Hetton Hawks) @ 1:14
3 Charlie Tanfield (Velo 29) @ 1:52
4 Jake Dobson (Newcastle Phoenix) @ 2:25
5 James Morgan (Hetton Hawks) @ 2:34
6 Elliot Davidson (Hetton Hawks) @ 3:27
Under-14s: Jake Dobson. Girls: Rhianna Stoves (Hetton Hawks).

1 Toby Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers)
2 Christian Worner (Teesdale CRC)
3 Joe Thirlbeck
Girls: Lucy Mitchell.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.