Cross: Wilkinson wins in Huddersfield

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Newsome High School, Huddersfield
Event: 30 October 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Ian Wilkinson (Endura Racing) proved a convincing winner of the Huddersfield Star Wheelers cyclo-cross staged at Newsome High School in the West Yorkshire town.

He crossed the line more than a minute clear of his nearest rival, veteran Richard Binks (Holme Valley Wheelers) after pulling away from the gun.

In the early exchanges he had shared the limelight with Rob Thackray, but he soon dropped back and out of the top ten, while Wilkinson powered on alone to victory.

Binks’ team-mate John Hick completed the podium with third spot, 13 seconds further back, after a race-long battle for the minor placings between 4-5 riders.

Pedalsport’s Jazz Manning was fastest of the women, while her young team-mate at Pedalsport Levi Moody won the youth race after a strong performance.

He attacked from the gun, and gained roughly about a minute per lap over his rivals, led in by under-14 talent Thomas Humphrey (Wakefield Tri Club) in second spot, 3:46 down.

The race also doubled up as the Yorkshire Undr-12 Championship, and another Pedalsport rider, Jenson Young, proved victorious in the Under-12s race. In other categories, Eva Oxley (Wakefield Tri Club won the Under-10s) while Huddersfield Star Wheelers’ Alex Bailey was crowned Under-8 champion.


1 Ian Wilkinson (Endura Racing) 48:16
2 Richard Binks (Holme Valley Wheelers) @ 1:11
3 John Hick (Holme Valley Wheelers) @ 1:24
4 Tom Randle (Wakefield Tri Club)
5 Rick Crabtree (Pedalsport)
6 Jiri Klekner (Wheelspin)
7 Marcus Spencer (Batley CC)
8 Phil Hinchcliffe (Bradford RCC)
9 Paul Daley (Pedalsport CC)
10 Tim Kershaw (Velo Cake)
Veterans: Richard Binks. Women: Jazz Manning (Pedalsport).

1 Levi Moody (Pedalsport) 28:08
2 Thomas Humphrey (Wakefield Tri Club) @ 3:46
3 Archie Stewart (Mossley CC) @ 3:48
4 Connor Pallister (East Bradfield CC)
5 Brandon James-Stock (Clifton CC)
6 Grace Feetham (Wakefield Junior Tri)
Under-14s: Thomas Humphrey. Girls: Grace Feetham.

Yorkshire Under-12 Championships:
1 Jenson Young (Pedalsport CC)
2 Mason Hollyman (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
3 Evan Cameron (East Bradford CC)
Girls: Jess Manning (unattached).

1 Eva Oxley (Wakefield Junior Tri)
2 Henry Hollyman (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
3 Jamie Asquith (East Bradford CC)
Girls: Eva Oxley.

1 Alex Bailey (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
2 Luca Longer (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
3 Jamie Moseley (unattached)
Girls: Hannah Whitworth (Huddersfield RC).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.