Cross: Fawcett Wins CXNE League Round 5

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Gateshead International Stadium, Gateshead
Event: 16 October 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Black Hawk Bikes rider Tony Fawcett took victory in the latest round of the CXNE League, staged around Gateshead International Stadium by Gosforth Road Club on Sunday.

Fawcett, 33 and from Stanley in County Durham, crossed the line more than a minute ahead of his nearest rival to record his second victory in the series following his win at Preston Park in Round 3.

After the initial flurry of first-lap activity, the race settled down into a two-horse race with junior Adam Martin (Cestria Cycles) sharing the work at the front with Fawcett.

Martin, the 17-year-old from Pelton, had high hopes of repeating his win in the opening round of the series, but a mechanical on lap seven ended his hopes of victory, although he made it back to the pits for a bike change.

He lost almost a minute, but managed to get going again in time to avoid being overtaken by the chasing pack, and crossed the line 1:16 behind Fawcett, and six seconds ahead of another Black Hawk Bikes rider Ken Haswell in third, who was inches ahead of MTS Cyclesport’s Malcolm Lewis.

There was another convincing victory in the youth race, with Ferryhill Wheelers’ James Edmond winning by over a minute.

The 14-year-old Darlington rider held off top under-14 rider Thomas Mein (MTS Cyclesport) for the victory over six laps of the same course, while third spot went to Cleveland Wheelers’ Joe Howard and talented Under-14 girl Henrietta Colborne (Beacon Wheelers) was fourth overall.


1 Tony Fawcett (Black Hawk Bikes) 52:14
2 Adam Martin (Cestria Cycles) @ 1:16
3 Ken Haswell (Black Hawk Bikes) @ 1:22
4 Malcolm Lewis (MTS Cyclesport) @ same time
5 Matt Flynn (Velocity RT)
6 Luke Parkin (Hetton Hawks)
7 Alan Nixon (Black Hawk Bikes)
8 Darren Binks (unattached)
9 Tony Glover (Derwentside CC)
10 Colin Ash (Black Hawk Bikes)
Juniors: Adam Martin (Cestria Cycles). Veterans: Steven Wilson (MTS Cyclesport). Women: Bev Blakeman (Infinity Cycles).

1 James Edmond (Ferryhill Wheelers) 32:50
2 Thomas Mein (MTS Cyclesport) @ 1:30
3 Joe Howard (Cleveland Wheelers)
4 Henrietta Colborne (Beacon Wheelers)
5 Nick Hamilton (Hetton Hawks)
6 Fin Robinson (Hetton Hawks)
Under-14s: Thomas Mein. Under-14 girls: Henrietta Colborne. Under-12s: Toby Tanfield (Cleveland Wheelers). Under-12 girls: Letitia Hay (Hetton Hawks).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.