Cross: Baum Victorious in Welsh League Round 2

Cross: Baum Victorious in Welsh League Round 2

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Risca Leisure Centre, Newport, Gwent
Event: 2 October 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports
Roy Bevis

Cwmcarn Paragon's Andrew Baum took victory in the Pontllanfraith Discount Carpets Cross, second round of the Welsh League staged at Risca Leisure Centre near Newport on Sunday.

Baum crossed the line alone after shaking off his rivals mid-race, and proved strongest in the sweltering heat.

Many riders may have wished for the usual wind and rain as they visibly sweltered in the heat on the heavy Risca course.

Baum, 36 and from Goytre, rode off the front on lap three alongside Cardiff-based junior Matthew Thompson (Cardiff JIF).

Thompson held Baum's wheel for much of the race but finally succumbed to the effort, and he was nearly caught by Joe Lally, the 27-year-old CC Abergavenny rider from Powys, as the two finished just under a minute down on Baum.

Matthew Thompson battling to stay with Andrew Baum in the Senior race.

Mark James (MI Racing) was a comfortable winner ahead of Rugby Velo's Philip Roach in the Veterans' race, and Stephanie Best (Abergavenny RC) rode strongly to take her first Welsh League win in the Women's race.

Mark James was a comfortable winner in the Veteran race. Photos: Roy Bevis.

Bynea CC under-16 Joe Holt held a race-long lead in the Youth race to win by 16 seconds, with Ffion James (Abergavenny RC) the first girl in that category. Tomos Owens (Brooks Cycles) dominated the under-14 field, finishing with a lead of a minute, and Bethan Manley (Newport Velo) was first under-14 girl.

Another bumper entry of under-10s kicked off the day's racing on the dew-soaked grass. Newcomer Guto Dafydd (Towy Riders) romped home ahead of club-mate Emma Finucane and under-8 Ashley Cole (Abergavenny RC) impressed, finishing fifth.

Megan James was to the fore again in the under-12 race but had to work hard to hold off a chasing trio of fellow Abergavenny RC riders, led home by Joe Beckingsale.


1 Andrew Baum (Cwmcarn Paragon) 12 laps in 48:53
2 Matthew Thompson (Cardiff JIF) @ 50sec
3 Joe Lally (CC Abergavenny) @ 55sec
4 Ryan Bevis (Bad Ass Bikes)
5 Phil Morris (Dambusters)
6 Adam King (Cardiff JIF)
7 Mark James (MI Racing)
8 Philip Roach (Rugby Velo)
9 Adrian Peall (Forza Cycles)
10 Ross Porter (Cwmcarn Paragon)
Veteran: Mark James.
Junior: Matthew Thompson.
Woman: Stephanie Best (Abergavenny RC).
1 Joe Holt (Bynea CC)
2 Ben Dunster (Brecon Wheelers)
3 Nicholas Jones (Towy Riders)
4 Sam Beckingsale (Abergavenny RC)
5 Tomos Owens (Brooks Cycles)
U16 Girl: Ffion James (Abergavenny RC).
U14 Boy: Tomos Owens.
U14 Girl: Bethan Manley (Newport Velo).
U12 Boy: Joe Beckingsale (Abergavenny RC).
U12 Girl: Megan James (Abergavenny RC).
U10 Boy: Guto Dafydd (Towy Riders).
U10 Girl: Emma Finucane (Towy Riders).
U8 Boy: Ashley Cole (Abergavenny RC).
U8 Girl: Evelyn Higgins-Worrall (Abergavenny RC).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.