'Cross: Lewis Takes Winter League R2

'Cross: Lewis Takes Winter League R2

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Supermarine Rugby Club, Swindon
Event: 13 September 2011

The GWR Team Floodlit Winter Cross League Round 2 had another record entry of 48 riders signing on for a surprisingly fast and dry race that was held in windy conditions at Supermarine Rugby ground.

With seven events of the ten race series counting for the overall prize of a holiday to Joyriders in Spain, riders were keen to get a strong result in the second round, so it was all guns blazing into the first woodland section.

With round 1 winner Matt Denby not making the trip south this week it was left to second place Dan Lewis and third placed Paul Lloyd to try to make headway at the top of the table and assume the overall lead. Leading the field into the first of the woodland sections was Lewis, staying at the front for two laps. Lloyd remained in contact and took the lead on lap three, only to relinquish it on lap six to Lewis who went on to take the victory in the 13 lap race.

Lewis now leads the series and Lloyd is in second place. For further details of the series standings visit the GWR page.


1. Dan Lewis RAF
2. Paul Lloyd Banjo Cycles
3. James Thompson Boneshaker/Trek
4. Peter Banham Team GWR
5. G Bate MJS Racing
6. Dan Smith GWR Team
7. Matt Hargroves Hargrove Cycles
8. Joe Griffiths Dream CC
9. Matt Woods Swindon RC
10. Steven Brown Dream Zero G
11. Harvey Lowe Hargrove Cycles
12. Jason Painton Rides on Air
13. Cutterham VCB
14. Kevin Blann Team Rose Blann
15. Micheal Holborow Swindon RC
16. Duncan Mellish Zappis
17. Tony Davis Dream Zero G
18. Paul Loosemore Team Striking bike
19. Simon Smith Adeo Cadence
20. Andy Gardener Team Striking bike
21. Dave Buckle Gloucester CC
22. Jonathan Wickham GWR Team
23. Matt Antrobus
24. Peter Hutchinson Swindon RC
25. Mark Rickaby Clevedon CC
26. Clair Galloway Team Zappis
27. T Biowering
28. Richard Bremner North Hampshire RC
29. Edward Clemens VC 9
30. Tony Turner Oxian CC
31. David Hobbs Corinium CC
32. Andy Webb Kenilworth W
33. N Buckingham Rides on Air
34. Dave Wadsworth Beeline RT
35. John Trevains
36. Steve Avery Team Zappis
37. Simon Edward-Parton Kingston Wheelers
38. David Emms
39. Jason Marriott Army
40. Dan Clemens VC 10
41. Mike Joffe Bigfoot MBC
42. Peter Martin
43. Richard Lewis Kenilworth W
44. Mandy Hibberd NHRC