Black Friday Promo

Wessex League - Remembrance Cyclo-Cross

Home » Cyclo-cross

Wessex League’s Remembrance Cyclo-Cross

Sunday 8th November; Wessex League Round 6; Tatchbury Mount Hospital, Southampton

The race got underway with the smallest number of riders all season, 63, and as the leaders headed out on the first lap all the usual suspects were at the front lining out the remainder of the field. On the completion of the first lap, series leader Adrain Lansley (Pedal On) led from Michael Cotty ( with Andrew Hargroves (Hargroves Cycles) third and Matt Macdonald  (Hargroves Cycles) close by in fourth.

As the second lap started, Adrain had Michael and Crispin Doyle (Swindon RC) for company, and as the next couple of laps ticked by these three riders were running fairly close together. On lap four, Adrain pulled out a gap over Crispin and this was the decisive move of the race. With a smaller entry, overtaking during the race was easy and the places behind the leader changed hands several times on each lap.

Provisional Results
1st Adrain Lansley (Pedal On)
2nd Crispin Doyle (Swindon RC)
3rd Michael Cotty (
4th Matt Macdonald (Hargroves Cycles)
5th Chris Minter (Pedal On)

First Women: Hannah Bowers
First Vet: Keith Sheridan (Corinium)

Youth Race
The race was won by Jonathan Dibben (Hargroves Cycles) with Luke Cowley finishing a close second. After the first lap, Jon and Luke were together with Harvey Lowe (Hargroves Cycles) a distant third. Luke knew that Jonathan was strong and decided to stick on his wheel, but with three laps gone, and his confidence now high, Luke decided to attack.

He managed to get a small gap but then thought he had a rear wheel puncture. He looked back, lost control of his bike went up a small bank and Jonathan got past. As the two entered the field leading towards the finish Jonathan opened up his legs and sprinted away taking a hard earned win, with Harvey closing in to take third. The under 12 race was won by Jack Phillips (Banjo Cycles).

Photos from Graham Robins