Black Friday Promo
Bikezone Cycles Cyclo-Cross

Bikezone Cycles Cyclo-Cross

Home » Cyclo-cross

Bookmark and Share  BC on Facebook Follow British Cycling on Facebook BC on Twitter Follow British Cycling on Twitter

Bikezone Cycles Cyclo-Cross

Saturday 31st October 2009 | Wessex League Round 5 | Report/photos by Graham Robins

Adrain Lansley from Pedal On, won his fifth straight Wessex league win but it was one he was made to work hard for in Oxford. The race held in the grounds of the Oxford Community School in Cowley, just to the south of Oxford. The course was laid out on two levels with the organiser John Vallis using a grassy bank between the two levels.

The race started in the middle of the football pitch and then skirted around the edge to break up the field. However with 117 starters it was soon clear there were going to be bottle necks until the riders found their place in the race. The wooded section was muddy and included a fallen tree which riders had to dismount to get past. The overnight rain didn’t hinder the riders or slow them down much either with the race run off at a quick pace.

From the whistle, two riders who have made a name for themselves in this league, Adrain Lansley (Pedal On) and Crispin Doyle (Swindon Road Club), were soon away at such a pace the field was lined  out behind them and it wasn’t long before we had riders all around the course making it tricky for the lap scorers. Once the race settled down however, overtaking became easier and it wasn’t long before the fast riders found their rhythm and lap times tumbled.

Crispin looked like he was by far the stronger up the climbs, but with so many back markers to negotiate, Adrain managed to keep in contact. Matt Macdonald (Hargroves Cycles) and Michael Cotty ( were close by and keeping the leaders honest. With the race nearing completion Adrain opened up a small gap over Crispin which he held to the end. The final podium place was taken by Michael Cotty. The first junior home was Rob Yeatman in his first race as a junior, after winning last season’s youth category.

Provisional Results
1. Adrain Lansley (Pedal On) 54mins54secs
2. Crispin Doyle (Swindon RC) @22secs
3. Michael Cotty ( @56secs

1. Junior Rob Yeatman (Glendene CC)
1. Women Rosara Joseph (Oxford Uni CC)

The youth race was won by Luke Cowley (Swindon RC) with Harvey Lowe (Hargroves Cycles) second.