Black Friday Promo

Report: West Mids CX League - Round 6

Home » Cyclo-cross

Bookmark and Share  BC on Facebook Follow British Cycling on Facebook BC on Twitter Follow British Cycling on Twitter

Report: West Mids CX League - Round 6

25th October 2009, Misterton Hall, Lutterworth, Leics | Images: Richard Preece and Richard Robotham | Report: Dean Barnett

Some great images from Richard Preece capturing the contrast between the beauty of the surroundings and the brutality of the racing.

Round Six of the ultra popular West Midlands Cyclo-cross league sponsored by Cult Racing ventured out of the region into the East Midlands as the latest event was staged at Misterton Hall near Lutterworth. The event was promoted by South Leicestershire based Welland Valley Cycling Club. The event proved a massive hit with all the competitors in various categories,

The autumn colours of the splendid surroundings of Misterton Hall were enhanced as the sun shone for the duration of the event. The course proved to be technically challenging with the varied terrain of fast shale pathways, tarmac roadways, dry woodlands and strength sapping meadowland.

With great support from Dawes Cycles and George Halls Cycles the first two events of the action packed programme, the Under 10's and 12's competitors all entered a free prize draw to win a child's Dawes Cyclo-cross bike, part of the new Dawes range currently being marketed.

Under 10's
With a number of clubs with strong Youth Development schemes within the region the Under 10's race was contested by 52 riders. On a specially designed circuit the racing through-out was incredibly close. Matthew Shaw (Solihull CC), Matthew Lewis (Wolverhampton Whs) and Lewis Askey (Lichfield CC) dominated the proceedings. Mathew Shaw took the victory in a tight sprint from Lewis with Askey coming in third after recovering from an earlier mechanical problem.

Top 10
1 Matthew Shaw Solihull CC
2 Matthew Lewis Wolv. Wheelers CC
3 Lewis Askey Lichfield City CC
4 Ben Breakwell Solihull CC
5 James Alexander Solihull CC
6 Harrison Knight Solihull CC
7 Oliver Gunn Solihull CC
8 Jake Phillips Halesowen A & CC
9 Lucy Nelson Lichfield City CC
10 Andrew Wheatley Halesowen A & CC

Under 12's
The Under 12's race once again saw an impressive ride by Charlotte Broughton (Leicestershire RC). Once the 34 riders had negotiated the swooping start and finish field Charlotte was in total control and soled to the victory. Second was Joe Deakin (Halesowen A&CC) ahead of team mate Cameron Biddle.

Top 10
1 Charlotte Broughton Leicestershire RC
2 Joe Deakin Halesowen A & CC
3 Cameron Biddle Halesowen A & CC
4 Ross MacDonald Wolv. Wheelers CC
5 Harry Yates Lichfield City CC
6 Keir Lewis Stratford CC
7 Louis Killworth Welland Valley CC
8 Kelton Aldridge Solihull CC
9 Josef Feiven Halesowen A & CC
10 Thomas Milward Stratford CC

For most of the young competitors they were more interested in the prize draw and prizes from Dawes and George Halls Cycles. One lucky lad from the West Midlands face was full of glee as his number was drawn and he won the Dawes Espoir 3000.

Youth Event
The Youth event was won by Jake Ledger (Norton Whs), this followed his previous day's victory in the Nott's and Derby event at Bramcote Park. Jake was pushed all the way by Scottish visitor Ryan Fenwick (Stewarty Whs) as they completed 4 laps of Misterton course.

Best West Mids rider was James Worly (Hinckley CRC) who finished 3rd. National Junior Road-race Champion George Atkins presented the prizes, George a second claim member of the promoting club is the Patron of the Welland Valley Whizz Kids.

Top 10
1 Jake Ledger Norton Wheelers
2 Ryan Fenwick Stewatry Wheelers
3 James Worley Hinckley CRC
4 Richard Walkerdine Wolverhampton Wheelers
5 Thomas Childs Wolverhampton Whs
6 George Appleby Stourbridge CC
7 George Rowlands Mid Shropshire Wheelers
8 Adam Lewis Wolverhampton Wheelers
9 Jacob Kelly Lichfield City CC
10 Joe Bloxsome Redditch R & P CC

Veterans, Ladies & Juniors
130 riders took to the start line of the Veterans, Ladies and Junior event. It was colourful sight as the mass start exploded away from the start line as the leading riders set a fast pace. Vince Page (MJS Racing) and Andy Webb (Kenilworth Whs) made their intentions clear as the course twisted and turned its way around the estate the elastic snapped as these forged ahead of a chasing pack of seven riders that included some quality riders in the shape of Chris Ledger (, Mark McKay (VTT Pyrenees Catalans) - former International road rider and fresh from the World Masters Games in Australia Vic Barnett (WVCC).

Both of the leading duo suffered punctures in the closing stages but it was Webb (pictured right - image courtesy of Richard Robotham) who went onto snatch the victory from Page with Junior rider Stuart Clayton producing a stunning last lap to finish 3rd ahead a string of Veterans. International MTB rider Kate Potter (Cotic Bontrager Race Team) was sampling the delights of cyclo-cross and rode to victory in the ladies event ahead of Junior Lady Lauren Creamer (Wolverhampton Whs) and Elizabeth Clayton (CC Giro).

Top 10
1 Andy Webb Kenilworth Wheelers
2 Vince Page MJS Racing
3 Stuart Clayton Lichfield City CC
4 Mark McKay VTT Pyrenees Catalans
5 Nigel Hay Team Pedal Power
6 Paul Moss Coventry RC
7 Mark Garrett Coventry RC/Ride
8 Victor Barnett Welland Valley CC
9 Chris Ledger
10 Ewen McDonald Epic Cycles-Viner RT

The final event of the day was dominated by Dan Booth (Cult Racing). From the start Dan (pictured right - image courtesy of Richard Robotham) took total control of the Senior event as Jamie Harris (Pearce Cycles) led the early challenge. Behind Harris the Raleigh Avanti duo of Matt Barrett and Rob Friel were both beginning to stamp on the pedals and reel in Harris.

As the Booth showed his class at the head of the race Barrett moved into second place with his team mate Friel in third. This was how it remained as the Booth crossed the finish line after completing 8 lap in just over 60 minutes of racing.

Top 10
1 Dan Booth
2 Matt Barrett Raleigh/Avanti RT
3 Rob Friel Raleigh/Avanti RT
4 Jamie Harris Pearce Cycles
5 Tom Haines
6 Lee Westwood Lichfield City CC
7 Robert Burns Wolverhampton Wheelers
8 Peter Goode
9 Simon Maudsley Crosstrax
10 Colin Miller Coventry RC/Ride

Many thanks to Mrs Craven for the use of Misterton Hall, members / friends of Welland Valley CC and WMCLL.