NTC 25
Report: Cyclo-Cross in the Lake District

Report: Cyclo-Cross in the Lake District

Home » Cyclo-cross

Cyclo-Cross in the Lake District

The Lakes Road Club 1st Borrowdale Show event was held in glorious sunshine on a dry grassy sporting course, surrounded by outstanding scenery and just a mile from Derwentwater Lake. Held in conjunction with the Borrowdale Shepherds Meet and Show, and along with other sports including Cumberland wrestling, and Fell running, it proved to be a reasonable success for the first event of its kind in the area.

In the senior race 46 riders lined up at the start next to the sheep dog trials, and were looked upon by around 50 Lakeland Herdwick sheep as the raced away on to a fast and undulating course. Lewis Burke and Paul Bethell Macclesfield Wheelers led after the first lap, and stayed together for another 3 laps, then the speed of Junior Burke told and he increased his lead every lap to the finish, chasing all the way Anthony Morris Evans Cycle sport could just not latch on and eventually finished third.

In with the spectators was a business man from Keswick who offered to sponsor next years race, with the outstanding setting, our own car park, and 80% of the course just for the Cyclo Cross I am sure we will be back next year.

Please can we thank all our helpers, course markers, marshals, lap scorers and signing on, John Gilmore - BC Commissaire, and thank all the riders who attended. Also Biketreks of Ambleside for donating the U12's prizes.

Full results from Borrowdale Show Cyclo Cross 2009

Under 12's
Pos. Name Club Cat.
1 Matthew Walls Eastland's Velo U12
2 Sam Red Rose Olympic U12
3 Helena Preece Red Rose Olympic U12
4 Tyla Loftus Salt Ayre Cog Set U12
5 Christopher Sackfield Leigh Premier U12
6 Sam Kendall Not Attached U8
7 Chloe Loftus Salt Ayre Cog Set U8
8 Oran Speakman Salt Ayre Cog Set U12
9 Ben Barlow Salt Ayre Cog Set U10

Pos. Name Club Cat.
1 James Jackson Salt Ayre Cog Set U14
2 Ashley Clitheroe Red Rose Olympic U16
3 Andrew Nixon Red Rose Olympic U16
4 Becky Preece Red Rose Olympic U16 G
5 Bill Cooper Red Rose Olympic U14
6 Grant Botherton Red Rose Olympic U16
7 Joe Westwood Red Rose Olympic U14
8 Caroline Humphreys Red Rose Olympic U14 G
9 Luke Bethell Macclesfield Wheelers U14

Seniors etc
1 Lewis Burke Macclesfield Whls J
2 Paul Bethell Macclesfield Whls S
3 Anthony Morris Evans Cyclesport S
4 Stef Chandler Horwich CC S
5 Greg McNally GMFRS V
6 Mick Style Manchester Whlrs V45
7 Adam Palmer Horwich CC S
8 Joe Allen Evans Cycles U23
9 Luke Beswick Buxton CC U23
10 Dave Headon Horwich CC V45
11 Andy Stanistreet Liverpool Mercury ( Dolan) S
12 Sean Beswick Buxton CC V45
13 Dean Smith L'pool Century RC V40
14 Paul Hudson Horwich CC S
15 Robert Virgo Cyclesport South Hans V45
16 John Ingam Kent Valley V50
17 Andrew Davies Horwich CC U23
18 Kevan Underhill Weaver Valley CC V50
19 Ian Kendall none V40
20 Daniel Miller Horwich CC S
21 Martin Jones Colnago/Skins S
22 Martin Sackfield Leigh Premier RC V40
23 Jason Ragg Manchester Wheelers S
24 David Swittter Dulwich Paragon S
25 Simon Cunningham Manchester Whlrs V50
26 John Gillmore East L'pool Whlrs V50
27 EriC Taylor Horwich CC V60
28 Tim Knight V45
29 Maddy Robinson VC Mounline L
30 John Rutter T Pro Bike Com S
31 Mark Rodhouse V
32 Jack Cooper Red Rose Olympic J
33 Peter Watson Horwich CC V60
34 Russell Clitheroe Red Rose Olympic V40
35 Ian McDermott V45
36 Reg Stanistreet Liverpool Mercury ( Dolan) V60
37 Paul King Border City V45
38 A Cook BNECC V45
39 David Hollingworth Red Rose Olympic V45
40 Graham Kennerley Lancaster CC V50
41 Mark Lenderyou Manchester Whlrs V45
42 Carolyn Speirs Horwick CC VL
43 Ian Small Zodiac CRC V70
44 Peter Fairclough Red Rose Olympic V40
45 Jenni Rowlands Liverpool Mercury ( Dolan) L
46 Mick Speirs Horwick CC V50