Cross: Another win for Chalmers in the Cotswolds

Cross: Another win for Chalmers in the Cotswolds

Home » Cyclo-cross

Location: Cotswold Airport, Cirencester
Event: 18 August 2013
Report: Andy Smith/Snowdon Sports

Another day of sunshine at Cotswold Airport near Kemble bought over 50 riders out for round three of the Cotswold Veldrijden Summer Cross Series.

Once again, no-one could stop Scott Chalmers (Dream CC) from taking a third consecutive victory in the seniors race.

Forty-six riders lined up for the senior/veteran, junior and women’s race with the usual suspects of Scott Chalmers of Dream CC, Benoit Davies of Cheltenham CC and Pete Banham of Fred’s RT leading the charge.

Chalmers and Banham stormed into the lead leaving the others in their wake to chase and hope for errors. On lap four Chalmers continued his great form and distanced Banham. Davies then reeled in Banham and passed him with a lap to go. Despite his best efforts he was unable to catch Chalmers who finished a clear winner with time for another wheelie across the line.

In the veteran race, Robin Wilmott of Cotswold Veldrijden chased the three leaders and finished fourth overall and got the category win ahead of John Dalton.

Callum Hassler of Cotswold Veldrijden continued to show his promise by storming through the field to finish ninth on the day and first Junior. Claire Smith finished off a great day for the host team Cotswold Veldrijden by finishing first lady.

In the series competition, Chalmers is in first place overall and one more win will see him victorious in the senior category. John Dalton leads the veteran category, Beth George leads the women’s category and Callum Hassler leads the junior category.

They will all be back next Sunday to fight it out for the honours and a trip in a plane courtesy of Cotswold Flying School.

A total of nine youngsters took to the line for the first race, run over 15 minutes of a shortened circuit using the grass and woods. The winner from start to finish was once again Luke Simmonds of Stratford CC who was followed by his sister Cerys in second spot.

Six youths started the 30 minute race and Keir Lewis of Stratford CC continued his good form by leading from start to finish with Xavier Sullivan Touge of Solihull CC chasing him hard over the four laps. But he was unable to match his speed and Lewis was a clear winner.


1 Scott Chalmers Dream Cycling
2 Benoit Davies Cheltenham
3 Peter Banham RT
4 Robin Wilmott Cotswold Veldrijden
5 John Dalton Cheltenham
6 Andy Webb Kenilworth CC
7 Donald McGregor Cheddar CC
8 Callum Haseler Cotswold Veldrijden
9 Pat Alexander Cheltenham & Glos CC
10 Ian Threadgood CCCC
11 Steven Green Bristol South
12 James Britton Bristol CX At 1 Lap
13 Dave Lee NFTO At 1 Lap
14 Mike Holborough Cotswold Veldrijden At 1 Lap
15 Tom Underhill Hackney GT At 1 Lap
16 Nicholas Pryce-Jones Worcester St Johns CC At 1 Lap
17 Ian Morris n/a At 1 Lap
18 Andy Roberts Cotswold Veldrijden At 1 Lap
19 Robin Akers Oxonian At 1 Lap
20 Paul Crossley VC Montpellier At 1 Lap
21 Pete Langworthy N/A At 1 Lap
22 Kier Lewis Stratford CC At 1 Lap
23 Rob Dentry Cotswold Veldrijden At 1 Lap
24 Claire Smith Cotswold Veldrijden At 1 Lap
25 Alan Millard Westbury Wheelers At 1 Lap
26 Aaron Tayler Cotswold Veldrijden At 1 Lap
27 Mark Chick SRC At 1 Lap
28 Chris Turney Giant CC - Harrow Film At 1 Lap
29 Richard Lewis Kenilworth CC At 1 Lap
30 Nick Peatson N/A At 1 Lap
31 Neil Langdon Giant CC - Harrow Film At 1 Lap
32 Nick Smale Cheltenham At 1 Lap
33 Tony Shortland Team Trisports At 1 Lap
34 John Moore U/A At 1 Lap
35 Rob Simmons Stratford CC At 2 Laps
36 Paul Meyer Cheltenham & Glos CC At 2 Laps
37 James Roberts MBS At 2 Laps
38 Steve Hall U/A At 2 Laps
39 Gareth Walker Cotswold Veldrijden At 2 Laps
40 Paul Shaftoe Cotswold Veldrijden At 2 Laps
41 Phil King Cheltenham At 2 Laps
42 Paula Loughlin Cheltenham & Glos CC At 2 Laps
43 David Bucke Gloucester CC At 3 Laps
44 Teresa Lewis Stratford CC At 3 Laps
45 Paul Wood Swindon Wheelers At 3 Laps
46 Steve Stroud N/A DNF

Under 12:

1 Luke Simmonds Stratford CC
2 Cerys Simmonds Stratford CC
3 Sam Yates N/A
4 Ollie Walker Cotswold Veldrijden
5 Otis Yates N/a
6 Daisy Tayler Cotswold Veldrijden
7 Luke East N/A
8 Harley Dudding N/A
9 Aidan Scott Cotswold Veldrijden

1 Keir Lewis Stratford CC
2 Xavier Sullivan-Tooye Solihull CC
3 Ciara Hutchinson Cotswold Veldrijden
4 Luke Simmonds Stratford CC
5 Conor Hutchinson Cotswold Veldrijden
6 Claire Neil Stratford CC

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.