Cross: Denby wins in Spenborough

Home » Cyclo-cross

Zepnat’s Matt Denby came from behind to take a narrow victory at the Spenborough Athletics Track, having trailed Billy Harding for three laps. 

On a mainly grassland course with two forced dismounts - one with steps - and small wooded section, Harding submitted a five second gap to Denby that couldn't be closed to eventually win by ten seconds.

The race played out the same for third and fourth with Chris Taylor and Jonny Limbear together for the first half of the race until Taylor also took a five second lead over Limbear and maintained that for the remainder of the race. Further down the field Mike Young was holding fifth place but lost ground to Seth Smith and Andy Johnson but fought back to take a place back into sixth. A fast starting Andy Carr was unable to keep pace with the top pack and fell back into a battle for eighth place with Rick Crabtree and Graeme Bird; Crabtree proving the stronger of the three riders.

In the Under 12 race Jenson Young took his second win of the week after also winning at Oakbank, the Pedalsport rider took the lead from the start and never look troubled, Matt Taylor was close behind but was not able to keep pace with Young. Issac Shepard had a slow start but was soon moving through the field to finish on his own in third.


Over 14
1 Matt Denby Zepnat 43.49
2 Billy Harding Paul Milnes @10
3 Chris Taylor Pedalsport @32
4 Jonny Limbear Hargraves Cycles @38
5 Seth Smith Paul Milnes
6 Mike Young Pedalsport
7 Andy Johnson Yorkshire Velo
8 Rick Crabtree Pedalsport
9 Andy Carr UA
10 Graeme Bird UA

1st Lady Gilly Dukes Huddersfield Star Wheelers

Under 12
1 Jenson Young Pedalsport
2 Matt Taylor Pedalsport
3 Isaac Shepard Holme Valley Wheelers
4 Jim Brown Holme Valley Wheelers
5 Louis Cook Pedalsport

1st Girl Felicity Gledhill Planet X

Under 10
1 Marcus Highley Pedalsport
2 Oliver Walton Pedalsport
3 Tom Scott Sheffield Stars
4 Luca Longo Huddersfield Star Wheelers
5 Toby Kershaw Velocake

1st Girl Kayleigh Wells Yorkshire Velo

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.