Crumpton and Field seal National Cyclo-Cross Trophy series triumphs

Crumpton and Field seal National Cyclo-Cross Trophy series triumphs

Home » Cyclo-cross

Beth Crumpton and Ian Field did enough to secure overall victory in the HSBC British Cycling National Trophy but didn’t have it all their way at the sixth and final round in Shrewsbury.

Dutch international rider Gosse van der Meer (Bombtrack Bicycle) profited from his rival’s misfortune to clinch the men’s race while Ffion James (Storey Racing) rode away from her rivals to win the women’s event on the day.

It was van der Meer’s first ever UCI victory while James added the win to her victory in the second round of the series in Irvine.

Field reigns supreme again despite punctures

With all to play for in the final round, Neon-Velo CT team-mates Ian Field and Yorben Van Tichelt went head-to-head for the overall series victory.

However, they were joined at the head of the race by Dutch international rider van der Meer.

It was van der Meer who led away from the start and was joined by Van Tichelt while Field had to work his way back to the leaders following the opening exchanges.

The trio were locked together until a crash on the off-camber section for Van Tichelt with just four laps to go saw him taken to hospital.

Shortly before the crash Field suffered a front wheel puncture allowing van der Meer to force a winning margin.

Despite a bike change for Field the winning gap was enough for van der Meer to take victory, with Cameron Mason (Endura-Pedal Power) third behind Field.

Crumpton makes it back-to-back titles despite James win

James took an emphatic victory in the women’s race leading from start to finish and seeing off a challenge from domestic rival Anna Kay (Experza-Footlogix).

However, the victory couldn’t stop Crumpton from wrapping up the overall title after a battling ride from the defending champion.

Kay finished second ahead of Edinburgh RC’s Anna Flynn on the day, with Kay also finishing second overall, ahead of James, whose terrific win on the day ensured a third-placed finish in the series.

Kay also took the under-23 title, with Josie Nelson scooping the junior crown.

What they said

After being confirmed champion once again, Field commented: “It’s quite nice to win the title again," said Field.

“I got a bit of a slow start but came back to the front and immediately punctured so I had to do half-a-lap on a front flat which wasn’t ideal.

“I had to ride so hard on the front flat that I gassed myself a little bit. I changed bikes and got going but the gap had gone then and I just started to think about the series and not ripping a mech off on the cambers.

“So, job done.”

On her success, Crumpton added: “It's a relief to finish it off today so I'm really happy to win a second title in a row," said Crumpton.

"The talent in women's cyclo-cross is amazing at the moment and you don't know who is going to win. The UK girls have given me a run for my money and we're pushing each other on."

Lewis Askey (Zannata Ride Coventry XGear) took another convincing victory in the junior men’s race after riding away from his rivals early in the race, as he did at the previous round in Ipswich.

It was Askey’s third victory of the National Series out of four starts, but he couldn’t stop Jenson Young (Oldfield/Paul Milnes Cycles ERT) from taking the overall series win, which had already been confirmed before the final race.


Senior men

1. Gosse van der Meer (Bombtrack Bicycle)
2. Ian Field (Neon-Velo CT)
3. Cameron Mason (Endura-Pedal Power)

Overall series

1. Ian Field (Neon-Velo CT)
2. Yorben Van Tichelt (Neon-Velo CT)
3. Steven James (Hope Factory Racing)

Under-23 men

1. Cameron Mason (Endura-Pedal Power)
2. Daniel Tulett (TP Racing)
3. Matt Taylor (Albion Cycling Co)

Overall series

1. Callum Macleod (
2. Toby Barnes (Lichfield City CC)
3. Cameron Mason (Endura-Pedal Power)

Senior women

1 Ffion James (Storey Racing)
2 Anna Kay (Experza-Footlogix)
3 Anna Flynn (Edinbugh RC)

Overall series

1 Bethany Crumpton (Storey Racing)
2 Anna Kay (Experza-Footlogix)
3 Ffion James (Storey Racing)

Under-23 women

1 Ffion James (Storey Racing)
2 Anna Kay (Experza-Footlogix)
3 Sophie Thackray (PH-MAS/Paul Milnes Cycles)

Overall series

1 Anna Kay (Experza-Footlogix)
2 Ffion James (Storey Racing)
3 Sophie Thackray (PH-MAS/Paul Milnes Cycles)

Junior women

1 Anna Flynn (Edinbugh RC)
2 Maddie Wadsworth (Beeline Bicycles RT)
3 Josie Nelson (RST/Cycle Division Race Team)

Overall series

1 Josie Nelson (RST/Cycle Division Race Team)
2 Katie Scott (Hargroves-Montezuma’s)
3 Anna Flynn (Edinbugh RC)

Junior men

1 Lewis Askey (Zannata Ride Coventry XGear)
2 Harry Birchill (Mid Devon CC)
3 Simon Wyllie (Halesowen A&CC)

Overall series

1 Jenson Young (Oldfield/Paul Milnes Cycles ERT)
2 Lewis Askey (Zannata Ride Coventry XGear)
3 Simon Wyllie (Halesowen A&CC)


HSBC UK 2018 | National Trophy Rnd 6 Shrewsbury